PDA

View Full Version : Edit video chat (Must have VT card)



joseburgos
10-01-2009, 09:22 AM
*Double posted in VT SpeedEdit as well*
I followed a link to the new FC Studio web page from an Apple email. I lot
of cool stuff for sure and for $999 (as long as you have a Mac), it's
priced well. Anyway, I normally just breeze through these upgrades from
FC Studio since I don't own it and mostly look to see what, if anything,
I don't have in my present large tool kit of software. Well one thing
new, stuck a chord and that is iChat Theater.
http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/finalcutpro/includes/overlay_ichat.h\
tml#overlay-finalcutpro-ichat
<http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/finalcutpro/includes/overlay_ichat.\
html#overlay-finalcutpro-ichat> . This new feature takes the project
video out and sends it to iChat to show a client who is at a remote
location. My first reaction was damn, that is cool to be built-in and
shames my way of doing it using WME or recently, one of the free Flash stream sites (UStream or LiveStream). Then I thought it would be way cool if NewTek included this feature in SE 2.0. The big deal in NewTek making this happen would be to send the video out in a WDM driver format so that it can be seen as a webcam. All video chat programs I know of need this WDM driver to work and Skype is one of them.

Well then it hit me. I have been taking the S-Video out of VT[5] and
TriCaster as a webcam to Skype using WebCamDV
http://www.orangeware.com/endusers/webcamdv.html
<http://www.orangeware.com/endusers/webcamdv.html> . WebCamDV takes a DV
device and makes it a WDM device which can be used in Skype (Yahoo Mesg,
AOL Mesg and MSN Mesg as well by the way). I have to use my Sony DSR-11
as the DV device but it works great (A DV camera works as well and I
have used it as well).

So I tried it with Skype on my VT[5] desktop. I took the S-Video out of
VT and passed it through my DSR-11 and then out of DSR-11 back to my
video monitor (same as I would for Skype remote video broadcast). I then
opened VTSE and made a simple three clip project for testing. I signed
on to Skype and went to my settings and went to choose WebCamDV as my
video device. Funny thing is VT Video device now shows up but it only
displays video when I have WebCamDV running. Does not work without it
here but you are welcome to try and see if it work on your system. So
selecting WebCanDV or VT as a device, shows the same thing and that is
the program out of the VT. Now the only thing left was to add the video
effect time code at the bottom of my time line to overlay time code just
like you can in the new FC Studio. I then made a Skype call and tested
this out and it works pretty damn good. I had to wear headphones so that
my mic did not feed back and this allowed me to speak via Skype while I
played the project with it's audio. I then asked the person I called, to
ask me to make changes and give me time code as to where they wanted the
changes to occur. Again this worked great and I was very impressed since
I have done this before and with WME, the delay was huge. The free Flash
streaming sites are OK but there is no interaction with the end viewer.
When I use the free Flash streaming sites, I have to talk on the
telephone with the client. With the this Skype WebCanDV interface, I
have a much more total interface. Very cool to see the clients, albeit a
test client, facial reactions as I make the changes real-time per the
direction they gave at the precise time they requested. Much better than
a telephone call. For me it is like a face to face just the client can"t
see my face.

I then exited VT and launched stand alone SE. I choose VT as the video
out and then opened Skype again. Since WebCamDV was already my device,
video instantly worked the same way. The only difference between VT and
stand alone SE is the lack of adjusting the audio out of SE. In VT we
have the audio mixer. Actually, now that I think of it, that is not the
big deal. The big deal is you have to have a VT card (it does not matter
if it is the older VT card since we are only using the S-Video out). Be
really, really cool if NewTek had a WebCam video out as one of the video
out choices. I know they are working on finalizing the output to
BlackMagic cards that will be added to the drop down list but a WebCam
out would really be cool. Then SE 2.0 could be used with any video chat
software to do remote client editing. Oh and it would save me tying up
my DSR-11 as the DV device as well.

Well in the meantime, if you have the need to do remote client edit
projects, I highly recommend WebCamDV with a DV device and your VT[5].
With the overlay of the time code, it basically works exactly like iChat
Theater in the new FC Studio :)

Oh and there is more. This will work on a desktop having VT
with After Effects and Fusion as they can both output to the VT card
when you install third party plug-ins.

I hope this helps any of you expand your client base or just give a
value added to your existing client base.

Take care,

lcress
10-01-2009, 05:00 PM
. Be
really, really cool if NewTek had a WebCam video out as one of the video
out choices.

I think you're on to something, Jose!
Who knew this capability was there all along? (at least for VT users)

Us stand alone pukes will have to wait for your solution above.

Hope the folks at NT are listening.

Rich Deustachio
10-01-2009, 08:38 PM
Maybe I am missing something here but can't we already do this just by streaming the VT5 output to the client? Just send them the link VT creates and you can do the same thing right in VT.

joseburgos
10-01-2009, 09:06 PM
WME stream has a huge lag time. I used to use it to do this but the lag drove me crazy so then I used a Flash stream which was good as far as lag time and quality.
But with Skype, you can see the person as it is a video chat and that can not be done from any NLE except FC Studio at this moment, using iChat Theater.
Seeing the person creates a virtual person to person meeting and makes for a better client relationship.

I've done a few remote edit/VFX projects and like I wrote, I never thought to use Skype even though I use it with the TriCaster. FC Studios new iChat Theater feature is what helped make the connection.

Now it seems I am not alone in having remote clients for edits as can be seen with Apple adding this feature to FC Studio.

Quiet1onTheSet
10-02-2009, 05:19 AM
Terrific stuff, there, Josť! But tell us: What's likely the most efficient manner in which to say, provide your Skype viewing Client, on the other end, to see you switch, between the Program Out and say -- a view of your Timeline window?

Would that require:
1. connecting an S-Video Switcher (like the old Videonics MX-1 or Panasonic MX-50 or Panasonic AVE-5, etc.,
2. rigging said S-Video Switcher so that it accepts both,
a. the S-Video Output of your VT, as well as
b. the S-Video Output of your S Video-equipped video graphics card, this latter issue requiring that you
c. set the video graphics card so that you "extend the desktop to... the "TV" Output (S-Video) port on said card?

I'm thinking this setup might be ideal for doing tutes featuring cuts between the two "views". What do you think? Got a better way?

Q1

Richvideo
10-04-2009, 03:44 AM
Skype has screen sharing now...I can see my Final Cut editors screen on mine when he needs to show me something..the lag time was not bad.

Team View 4 (win&mac) has remote desktop where you can exchange files or view screens and it is free