PDA

View Full Version : A CLEAR CLEAR CLEAR FBX solution? PLEASE?!

Scott C. Zupek
09-16-2009, 10:43 PM
Okay I am by no means a Pro. I am one of those people that can't decide the many millions of paths to take, but when I purchase something (such as Lightwave from version 7.5 to 9.0) (havent installe 9.5 or 9.6 yet) I expect the darn product to work!:2guns:

END RANT

Okay, so since I am getting into 3D Gaming and programming I need to IMPORT and EXPORT proper FBX files. I already have a model that came with the tutorial and I need it to import JUST LIKE IT SHOULD and JUST LIKE IT RENDERS through the gaming engine.

I have searched high and low for a SOLID solution for importing FBX files in LW and I CANT FIND SHEEEEEEIT! I dont have Softimage, nor Maya (and yes I tried their plugin... fail, i ended up with a model that had an arm coming out of its arse) nor any other program. I purchased LW because it was a complete package. After all these versions, including a complete core re-write, why is there no solid FBX Import/Export option? Where can I get a solid import/export plug-in (I am not paying for core because thus far LW is failing me)? One that takes bones, textures, weightmaps or whatever god else is supposed to copy over?

PS I dont (and as a customer, shouldn't have to) wanna have to dick around with the model. IMPORT the FBX model (keyframed if necesarry) and stick the model at 0,0,0. Whats the problem?

Scott C. Zupek
09-17-2009, 11:42 AM
Seriously 40 viewers and not one of them know what LW Only users are supposed to do about FBX files?

UnCommonGrafx
09-17-2009, 12:08 PM
You can help yourself immensely by sharing a link of some sort to the fbx file you are speaking.

Short of that, describe what's not happening for you that should be.

BeeVee
09-17-2009, 01:56 PM
And also, an aversion to installing the free update to 9.6 means that you are crippling yourself with an FBX importer that is not the best that LightWave currently does.

B

shrox