PDA

View Full Version : Amiga Format Lightwave 4 review 1996



walfridson
09-14-2009, 11:40 AM
Was browsing old Amiga magazines at http://amr.abime.net/
Really cool site...

Anyway, came across this Lightwave 4 review and thought it might be fun to read :)
http://amr.abime.net/issue_240_pages page 67 >

BeeVee
09-14-2009, 03:53 PM
Phew, thankfully it wasn't my rather downbeat LightWave 5 review where I bemoaned the lack of the OpenGL niceness that was available on the PC and the fact that while Modeler retargetted to a graphics card (kinda), Layout did not...

B

BigHache
09-14-2009, 11:45 PM
5 was the first version I started on. Man I didn't know anything. I still have those moments.

cresshead
09-14-2009, 11:56 PM
pages 67 to 71

http://amr.abime.net/pic_preview/amiga_format/magscans/af084_1996_05/067_tiny.jpghttp://amr.abime.net/pic_preview/amiga_format/magscans/af084_1996_05/068_tiny.jpghttp://amr.abime.net/pic_preview/amiga_format/magscans/af084_1996_05/069_tiny.jpghttp://amr.abime.net/pic_preview/amiga_format/magscans/af084_1996_05/070_tiny.jpghttp://amr.abime.net/pic_preview/amiga_format/magscans/af084_1996_05/071_tiny.jpg

OnlineRender
09-15-2009, 09:57 AM
http://i8.ebayimg.com/08/i/001/4b/f9/f62c_12.JPG


LOL

for sale if anybody interested .

3DGFXStudios
09-15-2009, 10:09 AM
Wowee That's a nice find!!! :D

COBRASoft
09-15-2009, 10:51 AM
OnlineRender, I have the same disk... somewhere...

OnlineRender
09-15-2009, 10:55 AM
Buy it now on ebay for 99p (",)

Intuition
09-15-2009, 11:04 AM
Oh yeah, in another thread I mentioned I was going to break out all my old boxes and take pics.

I have the black box from lw4 PC version, and all the boxes all the way up to Lightwave 8 in the blue dvd box. I never did get my fancy red Lightwave 9 box from newtek even though my reciept shows I ordered the box version.

I also have the box for Particle Storm2 from dynamic realities. All my worley manuals and toys from g2, sas, f-prime, polk, taft. Hmm, a 3.5 floppy from a plug-in that exploded things by breaking them in modeler and animating them in layout.

Must remember to take pics tonight. :thumbsup:

manholoz
09-15-2009, 11:59 AM
Ah, the Amiga. Never had Lightwave when I had an Amiga, but still, I liked that machine a lot.

erikals
09-23-2009, 06:59 PM
Amiga, Another World, best game, ever.

Intuition
09-23-2009, 07:11 PM
Yeah, Another World was released on the PC as well but I think the amiga was first and yes, I agree, it was one of the best games ever.

DiscreetFX
09-23-2009, 07:27 PM
Nice LightWave 3D 4 review and great game Another World. Best version of the game was on Amiga. I saw the 386 DOS version running very slow and the sound sucked. The later version that was released for XP a few years ago is really nice. Play demo and or buy via the link below.

http://www.anotherworld.fr/anotherworld_uk/

Damian Dowling
09-24-2009, 04:37 AM
If your interested you can now buy Another World for XP and VISTA. It is from the original author and is the same game with updated graphics.

http://www.anotherworld.fr/anotherworld_uk/

EDIT: Didn't see billpana's post at all - must of had a blind spot.

erikals
09-24-2009, 05:48 AM
sweet demo :) cool to play it in 1600x1200 mode :O
thanks :)

OnlineRender
09-24-2009, 11:38 AM
download an emulator and run it oldskool -HMMM " Wonder if you can do it with LW ? " anybody made a rom of that .... It's Google Time .......

http://www.freeroms.com/amiga.htm " can't see it "

erikals
09-24-2009, 12:15 PM
...i think you'd need a hardware key,.. (yep, they used those even on the Amigas)
or you'd have to find a LW4 Amiga crack...

OnlineRender
09-24-2009, 12:29 PM
usually when you en-code/rip the rom , it would have the key embeded /serial ...........

ps not looking to run a corrupt version via emulator , although it would be nice to see LW back in the day , would be nice if they added as a little easter egg in CORE " idea machine ! me " :)

brb away to dig deeper " thank G for Google "

OnlineRender
09-24-2009, 12:35 PM
http://www.amigans.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=2987&viewmode=flat&order=ASC&type=&mode=0&start=0

amigans talking about NT / LW . . . .

PS i found it lol :P

Quote:

Fernecho wrote:
Hello

I have Lightwave 3D 5.0 for Amiga, bought to NewTek USA directly, with dongle in the parallel port, and he works very well in my Amiga 1200, but I cannot prove it in my Sam440ep, because the Sam doesn't have parallel port to plug the dongle.
Does somebody know if exists a PCI card with parallel ports that it can be plugged in the slot PCI of the Sam?

Intuition
09-24-2009, 02:31 PM
I would have my old dongle for playing with 4.0 but Newtek confiscated it so I could have the new USB dongle.

Darn you Newtek. :(

erikals
09-24-2009, 03:04 PM
i think you could use a cracked version as long as you own a higher version of it and run it on the same computer.

OnlineRender
09-24-2009, 04:03 PM
i think you could use a cracked version as long as you own a higher version of it and run it on the same computer.

doubt it ! iv'e read many disclaimer like this before .

Amiga ROMS Disclaimer:
You may only download these Amiga ROMS if you own the respective official cartridges.You may only download these Amiga ROMS if you own the respective official cartridges.
If you don't, you must delete them in 24 hours (or less).

question ? if you had the original why would you download a rom ? .
also the disclaimer is legally wrong in so many ways ...
the fact is , if you dont have it , you aint got it . . .

Trev.T
09-24-2009, 04:23 PM
Found my lw models in the reader stuff issue 108!

erikals
09-24-2009, 04:38 PM
doubt it ! iv'e read many disclaimer like this before .

Amiga ROMS Disclaimer:
You may only download these Amiga ROMS if you own the respective official cartridges.You may only download these Amiga ROMS if you own the respective official cartridges.
If you don't, you must delete them in 24 hours (or less).

question ? if you had the original why would you download a rom ? .
also the disclaimer is legally wrong in so many ways ...
the fact is , if you dont have it , you aint got it . . .

well, i'd do it, if they wanted to they could stop me.
i might be taking a chance here going to prison, just like the Pirate Bay ppl... :O

OnlineRender
09-24-2009, 05:04 PM
Iv'e spent alot of time chassing shadows ! ,Piratbyrån :) , ive got a good story about that . . .

Smart people , very smart , we tend to notice alot of uni /schools get data bounced around there servers :) ,and alot of porn hosting from Netherlands aswell :) i could handle a year in prison , but the 30 million is a killer .

Ive always suggested open downloads , but paying effectivley a tv licence / actors contrubruation " tired cant spell " once a year ..... say for example you pay $100 for 35 gigs worth of media . . .

OnlineRender
09-24-2009, 06:24 PM
Okay... let me get this right... that's erikals with a "K", right?

Okay... Norway.... got it. :)

no need ,

INT:~ DAY
Location : F!B headquarters .


AGENT
" hello its F!B any chance you can give us his ip from NT forum "

ADMIN


" sorry but its against policy and we have reason to belive its spoofed "

AGENT

"what about his mac code then " ....

ADMIN
"sorry thats spoofed aswell "

AGENT

" How do you know that ? "


ADMIN

"Have you seen Core's programming ? "

AGENT
" No sorry !, It dosn't matter anyway ,his data trail is massive "

Bill Gates

" Hello "

END

jbaudrand
09-26-2009, 03:51 AM
I still have my 3.5 disc (but not the dongle). as far as I remember I tried to launch LW under winUAE and I remember facing the problem with cybergraph'x/picasso2 problem so I didn't see the preview.
Maybe it's fixed now... I should retry it!

hey I'm still have lee stranahan desktop images essentials VHS, so good memories (hit enter) "Keeeyframes"

Used it with my 1260, so many memories....

BeeVee
09-28-2009, 01:39 PM
Layout never worked with an Amiga gfx card, Modeler did to my recollection, even down to the jiggling preview.

B

danielkaiser
09-28-2009, 03:59 PM
I still have my 3.5 disc (but not the dongle). as far as I remember I tried to launch LW under winUAE and I remember facing the problem with cybergraph'x/picasso2 problem so I didn't see the preview.
Maybe it's fixed now... I should retry it!

hey I'm still have lee stranahan desktop images essentials VHS, so good memories (hit enter) "Keeeyframes"

Used it with my 1260, so many memories....

I thought the dongle for 3.5 was the toaster.

erikals
09-28-2009, 04:14 PM
nope

BeeVee
09-29-2009, 01:47 PM
3.1 was the first standalone version I bought, with a dongle made by a third party called Industrial Might and Logic that basically emulated the Toaster's presence in the Amiga's video slot.

B