PDA

View Full Version : Screamer Net2 Problems

marcopolio
02-26-2003, 01:20 PM
Ok, I am new to lightwave. In the past I have used Cinema 4D and 3D studio max and the ease of use of their net render modules is astronomically superior to lightwaves. What is going on over there in the department responsible for creating the user interface? do they drink on the job? Ive gone through everything I have found online and am not able to get it to work.

I have in the Programs folder of my first machine the LWSN Command line file saved and working to render in the background of one machine. Do I need to adjust the command line files of every machine i am using for the net render? What should the command line files of my render nodes look like? can anyone help me out?
-A

paintboy
02-26-2003, 01:25 PM
go here....www.catalystproductions.cc/screamernet
excellent instructions for initial setup procedure.
every thing will be fine once you get it set up the first time.
good luck

marcopolio
02-26-2003, 01:30 PM
Those are the instructions that I have followed.. now my problem comes in when copying the LWSN file and the LWSN command line file. Do I then move them to the node computers, or does only the host have to have the copied files? What should the command line file look like on the node computers? Do they all need to point to the same preferences folder, or the local preferences folder? Does the job directory have to be the same? Should they all point to a dir on the network? If anyone can take the time to help me out it would be greatly appreciated, It is critical that we get the network rendering to work for lightwave.
-A

bakasaru
02-26-2003, 01:34 PM
Some of these may help:

http://members.shaw.ca/lightwavetutorials/rendering.htm

mlinde
02-26-2003, 02:35 PM
First, go to
http://homepage.mac.com/nonplanar/
and click on the OS X Scream! link. Review the tutorial there. Basically, the LWSN duplication requires two things: