PDA

View Full Version : HDRI study help-The Matte Ball

realgray
09-01-2009, 05:33 AM
Hi all, I'm currently studying HDRI and loving it but I'm having a hard time finding information about the gray matte ball. Does anyone know of any good resources explaining this technique and what it's used for? You'll see what I'm talking about 30 sec. into this video on Iron Man cgi.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4ga6OV0lkc

I don't know what the gray ball does but I'm sure it's important.
Thanks for any tips.
Gray

akademus
09-01-2009, 05:59 AM
I believe you can accurately capture the environment lighting and surrounding using only the chrome ball and shooting HDR for yourself.

If you can't afford pro chrome ball, there are cheaper equivalents in metallic garden balls.

Hope this helps.

Nowhere Man
09-01-2009, 05:59 AM
Hi realgray, as far as I know, the gray ball is not used for HDRI acquisition. It's just there as a visual reference for lighting artists (fe. if they are going to set up a traditional lighing).

In other words, it isn't that important :thumbsup:

RebelHill
09-01-2009, 06:03 AM
So far as I know, the grey ball is used for lighting reference for performing manual lighting. You can however also use it, or mroe often a matte white ball for HDR capture, the difference from the mirror ball being that it gives you the environmental illumination (diffused) as opposed to the environmental reflection. SImilar to the effect of blurring your HDR mirror ball...

Basically, the more data you can get of the lighting environment, the better.

realgray
09-01-2009, 06:27 AM
Ah that makes sense. I figured it had something to do with capturing the direction of shadows. Very interesting. Thanks all the help.

AdamAvenali
09-01-2009, 07:10 AM