PDA

View Full Version : snow leopard



kameleons
08-26-2009, 09:12 AM
hello guys on Friday gave me the snow leopard and wanted to know if it is compatible with Lightwave 9.6 and no problem if it does not

Johnny
08-26-2009, 10:06 AM
yeah, or whether ppl running LW 8.5 should be on the fence, too...

any reason to believe that SL would "break" LW running in rosetta as it does now in non-snow leopard?


thanks!

J

JeffrySG
08-26-2009, 05:18 PM
Seems that Adobe will not be supporting CS3 on snow leopard. Pretty sad if you ask me.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/08/26/adobe_abandons_legacy_support_for_apples_snow_leop ard.html

rsfd
08-27-2009, 02:53 AM
at least Photoshop CS3 works:
http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2009/08/pscs3_on_snowleopard.html
and I would assume, that most other CS3 apps should also work.

@kameleons
according to that thread: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=101406, LW 9.6 runs on Snow Leopard.

Nearly every actual UB app should work, as 10.6 boots by default with 32-bit kernel.
Only if one changes to 64-bit kernel, there will most likely be problems (as 64-bit kernel cannot run 32-bit kernel extensions).
For short info: http://www.ahatfullofsky.comuv.com/English/Programs/SMS/SMS.html (scroll down a bit)

Red_Oddity
08-27-2009, 05:08 AM
Seems that Adobe will not be supporting CS3 on snow leopard. Pretty sad if you ask me.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/08/26/adobe_abandons_legacy_support_for_apples_snow_leop ard.html

That is how Adobe support works, no support for older versions, none what so ever.
Got a new Camera and CS3 and need an update for the Camera Raw importer plugin so you can use PS with your Photos, too bad, buy CS4.

rsfd
08-28-2009, 06:20 AM
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=101406
now, LW9.6 on 10.6 could be problematic, but it could also be an individual installation problem.
As always, don't always try to be the first one, have a good look first.

4dartist
08-28-2009, 02:02 PM
Well I installed Snow Leopard today.

No noticeable changes to lightwave so far.

I'll let you know if something stands out.

rsfd
08-28-2009, 03:17 PM
@4dartist:
thanks alot
Especially any comments on changes in stability (as mentioned by jensfoto in the linked thread) would be very welcome - for many MacWavers, I think.

Phil
08-28-2009, 04:24 PM
I'm seeing UI corruption (small scale noise fringing around listboxes) and a fair amount of crashing with file requesters. Then again, instability seems to be app-independent with file requesters being more trouble than they should be.

SL is something to avoid right now until Apple issues an update, I fear.

4dartist
08-28-2009, 04:43 PM
I am noticing the UI artifacts. That's it so far.

lwanmtr
08-28-2009, 05:46 PM
what Mac are you running? maybe a graphics driver problem?

sublimationman
08-28-2009, 11:27 PM
I just installed SL and while I have not really 'used' Lightwave yet with it I did a few quick tests. I don't have the artifacts as noted above (Intel iMac) and I do notice it's a bit faster to respond.

I deal with high poly count objects and many times in modeler when I turn on sub-patch previews in the perspective view slow to a crawl and are very jumpy when manipulating objects. I normally have to turn off sub-patch when editing then turn it back on. Well the editing stays the same but the preview flys now. I can spin it with my mouse and see instant (real time) redraws even with 10,000 polys with sub-divide on and as fast as I can move the mouse.

kameleons
08-29-2009, 04:27 AM
are using the snow leopard in 32 or 64?

sublimationman
08-29-2009, 03:11 PM
Snow leopard is 64 bit if your hardware is 64. Mine is. Software will run in 32 if it's not written for 64 (Lightwave Mac is not at this time). Even a 64 bit program can be told to load as 32 if you want to for compatibility.

3dWannabe
08-29-2009, 03:55 PM
sublimationman - Are you running 64 bit mode (hold down the "6" and "4" keys each time you boot) or the default 32 bit mode 10.6 boots up in?

4dartist
08-29-2009, 04:53 PM
I am running a 8 core MacPro X1900 video card. I could try checking to see if there are newer drivers, I guess I assumed snow leopard would have installed the right driver for it.

how can you tell if snow leopard is running in 32 or 64? I just assumed it was 64 always.

3dWannabe
08-29-2009, 06:05 PM
The activity monitor will show you which processes are running 32 or 64.

10.6 (the operating system itself) defaults to running 32 bit, but there's a way to change that.

avkills
08-29-2009, 08:50 PM
sublimationman - Are you running 64 bit mode (hold down the "6" and "4" keys each time you boot) or the default 32 bit mode 10.6 boots up in?

You're not serious are you? Even standard Leopard could run 64bit apps on a normal boot process.

Apparently the Finder, plus all the standard operating system apps are now 64bit, so I am going to call BS on this post.

-mark

3dWannabe
08-29-2009, 09:33 PM
Only the Xserves will boot 64 bit by default. You have to make some modifications to some configs to have the machines boot 64 bit without holding down the "6" and the "4" key.

No BS!

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2009/08/latest-snow-leopard-build-limits-most-macs-to-32-bit-mode.ars

http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-10320314-37.html?tag=mncol

RonGC
08-30-2009, 01:15 AM
Check out this application on Version Tracker.com, 32- or 64-bit Kernel Startup Mode Selector - 1.2.3

Info about the app from version tracker.

"MacOS X 10.6 Snow Leopard is 64-bit - or is it?

Well, actually MacOS X 10.6 Snow Leopard is both 32-bit and 64-bit, and what that means for you depends on both your hardware and your settings.

I put up an accompanying website which should answer most of your questions at

http://www.ahatfullofsky.comuv.com/English/Programs/SMS/SMS.html

What does this app do?

it shows whether you have a 32-bit or a 64-bit processor
it shows whether you have a 32-bit or a 64-bit EFI
it shows whether the MacOS X Kernel is set to boot in 32-bit or in 64-bit mode
it shows whether the MacOS X Kernel is running in 32-bit or in 64-bit mode
it shows whether Apple officially supports booting a 64-bit kernel on your Mac
it allows you to select whether you want to start the MacOS X Kernel in 32-bit or in 64-bit mode (the setting might be ignored on MacBooks, depending on how Apple implements the restriction)
accompanying webpage explains what the whole commotion about 32-bit and 64-bit in MacOS X Snow Leopard is about."

May help you out.

Ron

avkills
08-30-2009, 07:19 AM
Wow, what a bunch of BS. So if the kernel boots in 32bit mode, the 64bit apps still run in 64bit mode though, right?

-mark

avkills
08-30-2009, 07:30 AM
Meh, I read those links. Does not seem like a big deal.

-mark

3dWannabe
08-30-2009, 09:05 AM
There may be a speed advantage when both the app and the OS are 64 bit - or not.

For a 32 bit app, if the OS is in 64 bit, it might possibly free up some more memory for the app - which is what a lot of folks are hoping for on the Logic Pro forums.

After a period of time, when all the drivers are updated, everything will pretty much run in 64 bit (except for the apps that are stuck at 32 bit).

But, should be interesting seeing the benchmarks people post trying it different ways.

avkills
08-30-2009, 09:15 AM
Yes it will. I'm not sure we are going to update the work machines right away; I need to see more information as the dust settles.

-mark

Johnny
08-30-2009, 09:56 AM
I don't see Lightwave on this list yet, but this might be of use in general:


http://snowleopard.wikidot.com/





J

rsfd
08-30-2009, 10:13 AM
To clarify: another brief info on the 32/64-bit kernel boot:

http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20090826074252596
and
http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20090828112540695

In short: you have to know if you are using software that relies on its own kernel extensions.

RonGC
08-30-2009, 01:15 PM
Its the old song, never upgrade your work machines until the new OS is into at least its first upgrade.
I do however load the first release on my everyday use Mac to check and test things out, that way i find out wether a specific release is going to cause me grief with my chosen applications.

Gives you a lot of peace of mind, rather than that nerve shattering, install the New OS and let all hell break loose feeling.LOL

Ron

RonGC
08-30-2009, 02:35 PM
If you would like to know if your Intel mac has a 32 or 64 bit EFI just open the terminal and copy paste the following,

ioreg -l -p IODeviceTree | grep firmware-abi

in the teminal window you will see the text EFI32 or EFI64 depending on your hardware, if you have EFI64 your good to go with 64bit.

Ron

Steamthrower
08-30-2009, 05:49 PM
I'll definitely wait for a month or so until I upgrade to Snow Leopard. Can't risk swapping if it might even possibly mean After Effects CS3 or LW won't run perfectly.

rsfd
08-31-2009, 01:27 AM
A complete Time Machine backup before upgrading is a big helper.
If one runs into trouble, just insert the System DVD, reboot with "c" pressed, start Time Machine Recovery and go back to the "pre-SL" state.

3dWannabe
08-31-2009, 07:51 AM
Carbon Copy is also useful.

http://www.bombich.com/

sublimationman
09-04-2009, 02:08 PM
Well I am now noticing some Lightwave problems with Snow Leopard. I render very high resolution single images and the other day I started one with glass objects so I knew it was going to take a long time. Last night it said it still had 8 hours to go and was 75% done when I went to bed. I got up this morning and it still said the exact same so I figured it hung (29 hours into the render no less). I started clicking on the Lightwave window to see if I could get a response and after a few clicks the render status window disappeared and Lightwave came back to life.

I went and checked to see if the image had saved to HD and it was there, in fact the time stamp on it was before I had gone to bed. So Lightwaves render status window had been frozen and the image had finished before I even went to bed.

I also tried to load an old scene the other day and it took it 30 minutes to load (3 objects) and once it loaded Lightwave was very sluggish and was useless. If I tried to move an object it would do it 3 to 5 minutes later. I finally had to force quite to get out of it.

JeffrySG
09-04-2009, 02:47 PM
I'll definitely wait for a month or so until I upgrade to Snow Leopard. Can't risk swapping if it might even possibly mean After Effects CS3 or LW won't run perfectly.

:agree:

Yep. Me too. Probably even more... few months...

rsfd
09-04-2009, 03:37 PM
Seems to be the best choice atm. SL lies on my desk for a week now, but the notes on incompabilities grow (even with "Adobe-certified" CS4 apps, http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/512/cpsid_51215.html, http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/512/cpsid_51229.html), and LW 9.6UB seems to have its issues too.
Today 10.6.1 went out to developers and will hopefully address these issues (as Adobe will do nothing for CS3 and older apps).
64-cocoa-UB beta has received some Extra-SL-Time (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=101576), so we maybe won't have to wait _that_ long.

3dWannabe
09-04-2009, 03:46 PM
on running in full 64 bit using the "6" and "4" keys:

--------------
http://arstechnica.com/apple/reviews/2009/08/mac-os-x-10-6.ars

If it makes you feel better to know that your kernel is operating more efficiently, and that, were you to actually have 96GB of RAM installed, you would not risk starving the kernel of address space, and if you don't have any 32-bit drivers that you absolutely need to use, then by all means, boot into the 64-bit kernel.

For everyone else, my advice is to be glad that K64 will be ready and waiting for you when you eventually do need it -- and please do encourage all the vendors that make kernel extensions that you care about to add K64 support as soon as possible.
------------

4dartist
09-10-2009, 04:27 PM
One of the graphical glitches has gone away with the update to Snow Leopard 10.6.1 The little colored pixels in the sides of boxes has gone. You can see a picture of what I mean on the 1st page of this thread. The disappearing buttons and interfaces on panels moved from one monitor to another is still present, just wanted to update peeps.

DrStrik9
09-12-2009, 04:01 PM
Printing was the immediate problem for me with 10.6, since SL did away with the ancient appletalk protocol. For older printers, such as the Tektronix Phaser series, my genius Mac guru compiled a driver. So now it works pretty much as it always did. I also had to change from firewire to USB on my Epson printers, and from ethernet to IP or LPD for older HP laser printers.

The other great thing about SL is the sudden LACK of typeface conflict warnings on a fresh boot! woo-HOO! Apple FINALLY figured out how to ID their system fonts. lol

Phil
09-12-2009, 04:14 PM
10.6.1 has fixed all the instabilities that I have noticed with file dialogs. Houdini 10 still is problematic, though.

RonGC
09-12-2009, 04:27 PM
I am very pleased with Snow Leopard, everything is running smooth and i had only one problem app. Cocktail which was just updated for SL and it now works flawlessly.
Havent had any problems what so ever, even gained back 17gb of hard-disk space.

Now just waiting on some 64bit apps to make an appearance.

Ron

4dartist
09-14-2009, 10:20 AM
Found a new one, I posted this in Chucks new thread but thought here would be a good spot too.

9.6 Build: 1539
Mac OSX 10.6.1
8core Macpro
ATI X1900

I'll post a bug report but for me this one is huge. Open Layout, hit 'd' for display options> click 'open GL' tab> check off Multi-texturing box> CRASH.

No scene loaded just default everything. Happens on my long time working install, fresh install, fresh configs, etc.

I can't tell if this is something new happening or if it started since my SL install. Can anyone else confirm a crash by checking off that box using Build 1539 and SL? Also list your video card/mac model please. Thanks!

RonGC
09-14-2009, 04:17 PM
Wouldn't it be better to test SL and snow leopard compatibility with LW 9.6 Final release rather than old Beta builds?

Ron

4dartist
09-14-2009, 04:44 PM
I just wanted to be very clear about which version of LW I was using. 1539 isn't an old beta build, it's the latest public release of 9.6 UB.

RonGC
09-14-2009, 05:47 PM
I stand corrected, easy to forget which numbers are which build.

Ron

boomforeal
09-15-2009, 07:59 PM
Can someone give me one good reason to upgrade to SL......I just dont get why you'd go from a working platform/os and rush out and upgrade with the resulting teething problems.

4dartist
09-17-2009, 07:50 AM
Boomforeal, I can give you lots of good reasons... read the improvements listed on Apple's site. I can also give you lots of reasons to wait...

In my opinion I just would suggest would holding off. I have SL installed and use LW all the time, but it presents some issues that you may want to wait until they are solved. No real show stoppers that I know of but, some work flow annoyances. I'm going to make a wild and guess and say a SL safe release is a few months away. A non-beta one I mean. I'm the only one in my office who has installed it, and I'm going to wait to have the rest of the guys install it for sure.

rsfd
09-21-2009, 12:09 PM
@4dartist:


Found a new one...

installed SL on weekend, can confirm with MacPro 3,1 - 10.6.1 - build 1539 - 8800GT

no further issues so far (except Cyberduck 3.1.1 does not boot, compatible beta already available and Eye-One needs Rosetta)