PDA

View Full Version : Snapping?



IMI
08-20-2009, 08:09 PM
In Modeler, is there a way to snap two points together, without welding them?
Ideally I'd like to be able to select one point, then another, and have the first selected point snap to the same location as the second. The same way the weld tool would act, but without welding them.
I've tried welding two points together, to get this effect, but when I unweld them I have 4 or 6 points in that location, rather than the two I would expect to have.. Seems to vary. Don't ask me how that works out, as I have no idea. Makes no sense to me, but I need to keep my point count exact and can't chance anything weird like that screwing up my model.

Thanks. :)


Edit:
Snap Drag seems to do ok as far as getting the points together, but is there another way?

Edit 2:
You know what, I can live with Snap Drag, so just disregard this. Too much coffee tonight I guess. ;)

shrox
08-20-2009, 08:10 PM
I select both, then scale them centered on the one I want to leave in place.

probiner
08-20-2009, 08:23 PM
Too much coffee indeed =)

Snap Drag is a great tool since you can change whats going to be affected But still, always confirm. I had some sittuations that the tool didn't snap perfectly, i thing i was using the viewport only option.

Cheers

IMI
08-20-2009, 08:26 PM
Thanks for the suggestions, guys. :)

toby
08-21-2009, 12:28 AM
Sometimes it's easier to select the points, open Info, and copy the xyz from one to the other.

IMI
08-21-2009, 01:28 AM
Yeah I've done that before too, but I've never had to do it for a whole lot of points. Is there a way to copy and then paste x,y, and z all at the same time?

Edit:
I mean I'll sometimes use Info to copy the location of a whole row of points on the x, y or z and then Set Value to paste them to that location, but is there a way to set the value for all 3 axes at once? Reason being, what I'm working on are irregularly curved surfaces with many points. Specifically, trying to snap eyelashes to an eyelid, where the lids and lashes are separate meshes.

toby
08-21-2009, 03:00 AM
No it's probably no good for more than a few points. 'Set value' can do multiple points, but of course, only one axis at a time.

probiner
08-21-2009, 04:54 AM
Found this
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/reselw/index.html
Allows you to do several operation acording the point selection. It's great since you can merge/snap mass amounts of points,using selection order.
I'm gonna use this on a lot.

And then there is this one
http://web.archive.org/web/20070621165740/www.ghostoutpost.com/lscript.php?code=1
Maybe faster.

All found with the help of http://www.lwplugindb.com/

Double post :D

IMI
08-22-2009, 02:47 AM
Ooh, those look very useful probiner, thanks. :)