PDA

View Full Version : Can this computer run LightWAVE?



lesterfoster
08-18-2009, 07:03 AM
Can this computer run LightWAVE?

This is the OQO computer. It is a rather small computer. It is small enough to put in your pocket. I am wondering if it is good enough to run LightWAVE? And are there other small computers like this out there on the market?

Below are two links. The first is for the home page for there website. The second is a link to the PDF about this computer.

Http://www.oqo.com/index.html Home page.

Http://www.oqo.com/media/specs/2plus_specs.pdf PDF file.

akademus
08-18-2009, 07:56 AM
I like its SSD drive. Does the pen have input sensitivity?

How much this thing cost?

colkai
08-18-2009, 08:08 AM
It probably would run anything upto LW9.6 - heck, I used to run LW9.0 on a P90 Pentium and my laptop is only a 1.5Ghz processor. As Neverko says though, 5" screen - not so sure I'd want to run it. That said, if someone gave one to me, I'd probably try to. ;)

biliousfrog
08-18-2009, 08:39 AM
Personally, for nearly 2,000, I'd rather have a workstation with a 24" screen or a fairly hefty laptop.

http://www.ballicom.co.uk/not-shown-20/oqo-model-2-1862gb60gb-ssdhspaxp-pro.p448789.html

aurora
08-18-2009, 08:52 AM
Heck the dongle is bigger then the system itself but at least it has one. LW, in Legacy mode as already mentioned, should probably run but I imagine it would not be a fun working environment.

colkai
08-18-2009, 09:19 AM
Personally, for nearly 2,000, I'd rather have a workstation with a 24" screen or a fairly hefty laptop.

EEK!
In which case, oh ya, gimme a purty laptop. :)

akademus
08-18-2009, 10:53 AM
Way too much. For that money I'd have my eyes on Cintiq instead.

I heard there are some guys with awesome salaries who could afford this :rolleyes:

I'm just a poor starving artist :D

shrox
08-18-2009, 11:00 AM
I'd test it before buying it. I have an HP Pavilion laptop that will not run Lightwave past a few hundred polygons. I think the shared video memory is the culprit.

akademus
08-18-2009, 11:04 AM
Shrox:
I had the same issue with my old dv6000 laptop. It has Intel graphics with shared memory. I maxed the ram to 2GBs and it flew. It was a less than 100 bucks investment which payed off well.

Cheers

shrox
08-18-2009, 11:40 AM
Shrox:
I had the same issue with my old dv6000 laptop. It has Intel graphics with shared memory. I maxed the ram to 2GBs and it flew. It was a less than 100 bucks investment which payed off well.

Cheers

That's the very one I have, maybe I'll try it with the increased ram.

akademus
08-18-2009, 12:02 PM
I got mine dv9800 pavillion with 4GB RAM, nvidia 8600 512MB, 360GB drive and core2duo centrino, blue ray and HDMI a year ago. cost me 1000$ refurbished, good as new!

We work happily together :D

akademus
08-18-2009, 12:31 PM
Yeah. That is really cool. When I'm under heavy workload, I tend to prepare the scenes in the evenings on that laptop and send to the stuff to studio remotely for rendering on the workstations we have there. That way I can continue to work, while things are rendering somewhere else!

shrox
08-18-2009, 12:59 PM
Yeah. That is really cool. When I'm under heavy workload, I tend to prepare the scenes in the evenings on that laptop and send to the stuff to studio remotely for rendering on the workstations we have there. That way I can continue to work, while things are rendering somewhere else!

You can also model on the a trip too, or at the beach!

cresshead
08-18-2009, 02:15 PM
screen res is too small for lightwave..you can't reduce down lightwave small enough to fit on that screen unlike say..yeah you guessed! 3dsmax...

try lightwave on your pc and reduce it as small as you can...that's the constraints on it's display res.

akademus
08-18-2009, 03:03 PM
You can also model on the a trip too, or at the beach!

I would never take laptop or a cell phone to the beach. I don't carry my laptop to vacation and I hate people standing halfway in the water and talking to a cell phone. I don't even watch tv on vacation. But it's nice to know one can do that on the beach :D

biliousfrog
08-19-2009, 01:33 AM
Is it even possible to work outside with modern laptop screens? I've attempted it several times an a couple of different computers and all I can see is a reflection of my ugly mug

beverins
08-19-2009, 08:53 AM
Get a netbook instead. They work better than the OQO

Lightwave will run...

The processor - Atom N270 - is about as fast as Pentium 4... Make sure you upgrade to 2gb ram.

OnlineRender
08-19-2009, 09:08 AM
"should work " even if you went to a lower version " LW 7 for example " i remember seeing blender on I-PHone
you can get LW to work on a PS3 you can get it to work on practically any OS , just dependant on whether it can run it coherently or not

cresshead
08-19-2009, 05:39 PM
the small screen res will mean you CANNOT run it.
you'd have to hack lightwave to display a smaller minimum app size if that's posible at all.

as is> lightwave ia simply incompatible with the screen res