PDA

View Full Version : Blender Smoke - Taa-daaa!! :)



erikals
08-13-2009, 08:07 PM
oh-yeah.... bring it on! http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/bouncy.gif

http://www.blendernation.com/new-smoke-simulation-added-to-2-5-svn/
http://www.wxtools.com/wp/


edit: hmm, sure is some blockiness there,... wonder, can it be improved...?
well, parts of it looks very good at least...

calilifestyle
08-13-2009, 08:34 PM
Yup i saw this few days go and it reminded me alot of Houdini. to bad i cant see how this is set up

3D Kiwi
08-13-2009, 09:44 PM
This impresses me more.

http://www.blendernation.com/modoblender-meeting-at-siggraph/

cresshead
08-13-2009, 09:47 PM
smokin! :D

bugzilla
08-14-2009, 07:14 AM
Yes. I had seen that a while back. Looks like it's going to give Hypervoxels a run for it's money.

erikals
08-14-2009, 07:37 AM
yep, no way HVs can do that.
you can never get a Hypervoxel to melt like it does in this fluids simulation,...

monovich
08-14-2009, 09:04 AM
it looks so fast, like an almost realtime dynamite but probably more powerful. nice!

Andyjaggy
08-14-2009, 10:06 AM
Wow. Blender has grown up.

erikals
08-14-2009, 10:53 AM
let's hope simulations with less "many smokey boxes appearance" can be done...
smoke is wavy, not boxy...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq7TCML9lSM

Andyjaggy
08-14-2009, 10:57 AM
let's hope simulations with less "many smokey boxes appearance" can be done...
smoke is wavy, not boxy...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq7TCML9lSM

That might be just the preview.... I don't know. I haven't seen anything rendered with it yet, just previews.

Intuition
08-14-2009, 11:04 AM
Looks like FumeFX or Houdini.... which is a good thing for Blender users. :)

Titus
08-14-2009, 11:37 AM
Let see if it's a light implementation or it's memory intensive like their fluid simulation.

cagey5
08-14-2009, 02:00 PM
Looks like dynamite on acid. Hypervoxels is a completely different system though and can't be compared. Would be tres cool to see something like this appear in core at some point.

May have to learn Blender in the meantime.

erikals
08-15-2009, 06:32 AM
we all know LW has a broken leg and is unable to do cloth/rbd without jittering.
you might as well get started learning Blender right away,...

prometheus
08-15-2009, 07:35 AM
Sweet..I have to try and learn a little bit of blender I guess, I tested it a while ago, but I couldnt stand the interface and shut it down immediatly after that, but a pipe of smoke changes everything.

so anyone nows when blender 2.5 is out with this smoke sims?

Michael

cresshead
08-15-2009, 08:09 AM
october

erikals
08-15-2009, 08:19 AM
october

well, i found this....


aws357 - is it available for testing and where can I find a test .blend ?


brendanj - Yep. Get the latest 2.5 build at http://www.graphicall.org, and you can find a sample file at http://www.wxtools.com/wp/

Titus
08-15-2009, 08:30 AM
so anyone nows when blender 2.5 is out with this smoke sims?

Michael

I repeat this a lot, since it's open source just go and grab it:

graphicall.org

erikals
08-15-2009, 08:39 AM
ok, found the sample file here, http://www.wxtools.com/wp/archives/category/bfd/page/2

blender here, http://www.graphicall.org/builds/builds/showbuild.php?action=show&id=1092

The Dommo
08-16-2009, 04:59 PM
not too bad,..... not too bad at all :D

cresshead
08-16-2009, 05:09 PM
yeah the beta builds are available now but they ARE beta and many things are not finished/working the actual release of 2.5 is around october 2009

colkai
08-17-2009, 01:53 AM
One to look out for for sure. I think then it will be time to learn Blender, especially if a LW-centric GUI is available to reduce the learning curve.

erikals
11-14-2009, 02:58 PM
btw, i thought it might, and it did have the option, here's a testanim using the "filter"
http://vimeo.com/7490551
http://vimeo.com/7356113

first time i see anyone test it...

(this is not possible in MayaFluids / FumeFX as far as i know...)

also, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhRydWmNEfk

Cageman
11-14-2009, 04:47 PM
Yes. I had seen that a while back. Looks like it's going to give Hypervoxels a run for it's money.

Well, for starters, Hypervoxels are not Fluids, so lets stop compare oranges with bananas...

Lets see if it will give Maya or Houdini a run for it's money instead...

:)

Cageman
11-14-2009, 04:51 PM
it looks so fast, like an almost realtime dynamite but probably more powerful. nice!

Well... looking at the second link, you can see that it needs to be baked, and 45 minutes to over 2.5 hours isn't really what I would call "realtime".

;)

Cageman
11-14-2009, 05:00 PM
btw, i thought it might, and it did have the option, here's a testanim using the "filter"
http://vimeo.com/7490551
http://vimeo.com/7356113

first time i see anyone test it...

(this is not possible in MayaFluids / FumeFX as far as i know...)

also, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhRydWmNEfk

Now, that second link was really neat I have to say! Bakingtimes are somewhat high though. I wonder if a GPU would be able to bake faster compared to a CPU?

erikals
11-14-2009, 05:15 PM
tricky finding smoke tutorials,...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTOFvw3IUmA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2AX_Wzx7Zs

erikals
11-14-2009, 05:18 PM
Now, that second link was really neat I have to say! Bakingtimes are somewhat high though. I wonder if a GPU would be able to bake faster compared to a CPU?

i think it should, when scooping through the blog i also noticed the programmer wanted to make it support OpenCL in the future as well.

calilifestyle
11-14-2009, 06:41 PM
I just downloaded the latest version of win 64. and wow the interface look impressive

erikals
11-14-2009, 06:49 PM
looks much better for sure,...
though clumsy Blender would only give me 2.49...

for those who have trouble finding it, you can find the 2.5 build here,
http://www.graphicall.org/builds/

Cageman
11-14-2009, 07:09 PM
Hmm... is it just me or is the UI really slow? (BETA, I know, but is it expected to have a slow UI in the beta?).

erikals
11-14-2009, 07:12 PM
well, it rocks :)

btw, anyone knows how to get a 100% camera match between Blender /Lightwave ?

Cageman
11-14-2009, 07:14 PM
Hmm... Blender is certanly shaping up... and the default navigation is very much like Modeler, with the exception of zoom. Cool stuff indeed!

erikals
11-14-2009, 07:14 PM
Hmm... is it just me or is the UI really slow? (BETA, I know, but is it expected to have a slow UI in the beta?).

haven't gotten around to test polyspeed,... fluid preview was fast though...

erikals
11-14-2009, 07:16 PM
Hmm... Blender is certanly shaping up... and the default navigation is very much like Modeler, with the exception of zoom. Cool stuff indeed!

yes, i noticed too http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif i can start to use it now http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/wink.gif

Cageman
11-14-2009, 07:20 PM
well, it rocks :)

btw, anyone knows how to get a 100% camera match between Blender /Lightwave ?

Have you tried Collada or FBX?

Btw.. there are alot of exporters/importers missing compared to V2.49. I guess those will come at a later stage though...

Oh.. and the slowness of the UI... I just realized that my workstation is rendering on the farm, so... hehe... :D

Cageman
11-14-2009, 07:22 PM
haven't gotten around to test polyspeed,... fluid preview was fast though...

I was refering to dropdown menus and such things.. Incredible sluggish, but, I did found the culprit; rendering on the farm. :)

However, LightWave UI is snappy even though my machine is on the farm doing numbercrunching...

erikals
11-14-2009, 07:35 PM
heh, http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif

that just might explain it.
true LW has very little lag when it comes to that, but try to select some polys hehe,... man, that's actually one of the things i look forward to in Core, being able to select thousands of polys, fast, as lightning...
http://gprime.net/board/images/smilies/lightning.gif

(thanks,... will give Collada or FBX a testrun) http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif

calilifestyle
11-14-2009, 07:40 PM
yeah i couldn't find the mdd export. maybe it was moved

erikals
11-14-2009, 07:44 PM
yeah i couldn't find the mdd export. maybe it was moved

...check Export /Vertex keyframe animation, should be it...

calilifestyle
11-14-2009, 07:44 PM
lol thanks

Cageman
11-14-2009, 07:58 PM
(thanks,... will give Collada or FBX a testrun) http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif

I've noticed that LightWave is incompatible with Mayas cameras. Both FBX and PointOven have issues transfering certain settings from Maya to LW. But from LW to Maya using FBX and PointOven, the cameras will end up 100% matched.

For a project we did way back we used LW for some rendering, but the cameras were done in Maya. So, once the cameras were exported to LW, we adjusted them in LW and then sent them back to Maya. That way, we were able to have 100% cameramatch.

I write this just as a heads up if you encounter missmatches between LW and Blender.

:)

erikals
11-15-2009, 04:18 AM
calilifestyle, hehe, solved that one quick didn't i,... ;)

cageman, thanks, yes,... i've noticed camera matching between apps can be tricky at times... i will test a bit, and post the result here... crossing fingers here.

Glendalough
11-15-2009, 05:29 AM
calilifestyle, hehe, solved that one quick didn't i,... ;)

cageman, thanks, yes,... i've noticed camera matching between apps can be tricky at times... i will test a bit, and post the result here... crossing fingers here.

That would be super if you could work that out! Perhaps we could combine renders (parts of) between LW and Blender via the Blender compositing nodes.

erikals
11-15-2009, 06:49 AM
hm, importing Collada in Blender worked, but cam info was gone.
couldn't find Fbx import in Blender.

exporting Collada from Blender 2.5 didn't work for some reason,
exporting Fbx worked, but skipped exporting objects / settings etc.

my guess is that the errors are in Blender... as Blender 2.5 is beta.

...also .obj doesn't import. (gosh, does anything work in that app ?)

[blender forum link] (http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1510389#post1510389)


.

Glendalough
11-15-2009, 06:58 AM
hm, importing Collada in Blender worked, but cam info was gone.
couldn't find Fbx import in Blender.

exporting Collada from Blender 2.5 didn't work for some reason,
exporting Fbx worked, but skipped exporting objects / settings etc.

my guess is that the errors are in Blender... as Blender 2.5 is
beta.

Wouldn't worry too much about 2.5 as not finished as you say. I've got Collada to work with Blender for the objects anyway, but not sure about the keyframing.

What about MOT, lightwave motion file, Blender does this. Would this not work for the camara? But as far as the camera is concerned, forgetting about it's position, how does one match it's exact field, depth, perspective etc. ?

erikals
11-15-2009, 08:12 AM
not sure as for camera settings,
isn't the perspective all that really matters though?
if i can match the perspective, then i should have a camera match? right? (or no?)

Titus
11-15-2009, 08:24 AM
What about MOT, lightwave motion file, Blender does this. Would this not work for the camara? But as far as the camera is concerned, forgetting about it's position, how does one match it's exact field, depth, perspective etc. ?

There was a retarded bug in the Blender MOT exporter (if that's what you want), I've submited a patch but highly doubt they considered it, at least in 2.49 wasn't fixed.

Titus
11-15-2009, 08:27 AM
my guess is that the errors are in Blender... as Blender 2.5 is beta.
[/COLOR]

I doubt I/O errors have something to do because of Blender being beta.

erikals
11-15-2009, 08:35 AM
I doubt I/O errors have something to do because of Blender being beta.

well, not all errors of course, but some.

basically got the answer here,
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1510440#post1510440

....so i'm installing both blender 2.49b and 2.5

Titus
11-15-2009, 08:44 AM
It was an easy solution, considering you don't have to mess with dongles and licenses.

Cageman
11-15-2009, 08:46 AM
hm, importing Collada in Blender worked, but cam info was gone.
couldn't find Fbx import in Blender.

exporting Collada from Blender 2.5 didn't work for some reason,
exporting Fbx worked, but skipped exporting objects / settings etc.

my guess is that the errors are in Blender... as Blender 2.5 is beta.

...also .obj doesn't import. (gosh, does anything work in that app ?)

[blender forum link] (http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1510389#post1510389)


.

What about using 2.49 to set things up (as in working out a cameramatch between LW and Blender) and then load the saved blenderfile into Blender 2.50?

Just a thought...

:)

stevecullum
11-15-2009, 08:58 AM
forgetting about it's position, how does one match it's exact field, depth, perspective etc. ?

I've done some tests myself on the camera. To match the perpective, set the camera resolution the same in Blender and LW. Then read the angle:degress reading in blender and use that value in the Horizontal FOV in LW. They should then match perfectly.

From other tests, when exporting from Blender 2.5 Collada, and re-importing to LW, drop a null and parent all the FBX_coordinate converts to it. Rotate the null 90 degress on the P and everything will be the right way up.

There is a bug in the exports from Blender which means the rotations are broken.

EDIT: the latest 64 bit Collada build seems to work ok. - Doh, no it doesn't. :foreheads

erikals
11-15-2009, 09:22 AM
agh, LoL, stop editing.... :D
so Collada is no go.... agh.

stevecullum
11-15-2009, 09:38 AM
so Collada is no go.... agh.

Well it was up until a week or so ago, because it was working fine. I think there is something funky in Blender itself, becuase all the rotations aren't showing in degrees for some reason. I think when thats fixed, collada export should be back on. :)

erikals
11-15-2009, 10:15 AM
nah, no luck in matching the blender / LW cameras.
there is a mismatch somewhere (blender 2.49)

stevecullum
11-15-2009, 11:09 AM
nah, no luck in matching the blender / LW cameras.
there is a mismatch somewhere (blender 2.49)

Are you tring to match animated or still camera?

I seem to remember the way to get the 2.49 camera working was to export as an FBX and load into LW. Also export the .mot from Blender. Add a null, and use it as the parent for the FBX Camera null in LW. Then apply the .mot to the null. I think also you might need to rotate one of the nulls also. Then change the camera settings accordingly.

stevecullum
11-15-2009, 11:22 AM
Just re-tested and working.

1. Export FBX from Blender.
2. Import to LW
3. Export Camera .mot from Blender
4. Add a Null in LW
5. Import Motion file to it
6. Parent FBX Cam null to null with the .mot
7. Change the camera res to match blenders - I think the default is HDTV 1080.
8. Adjust the Horizontal FOV in LW to match the camera angle degress in blender - the default is 49.13
9. Now things should line up

I've only tested with simple cubes and spheres, but it seems to work fine.

Glendalough
11-15-2009, 11:56 AM
Just re-tested and working.

1. Export FBX from Blender.
2. Import to LW
3. Export Camera .mot from Blender
4. Add a Null in LW
5. Import Motion file to it
6. Parent FBX Cam null to null with the .mot
7. Change the camera res to match blenders - I think the default is HDTV 1080.
8. Adjust the Horizontal FOV in LW to match the camera angle degress in blender - the default is 49.13
9. Now things should line up

I've only tested with simple cubes and spheres, but it seems to work fine.

Sounds good!

Maybe you could also use MDD for camera, like parent it to an object or 'empty'.

stevecullum
11-15-2009, 12:57 PM
I've attempted to make a video of the process, but the quality is shocking as I didn't know the screen capture process very well! (Whats the best free one?) I think its useable though.

Sorry I had to split the file - forum limits....grr

probiner
11-15-2009, 03:09 PM
Thank you for the walkthrough. I didn't understand what where you trying to show in Fusion.

Personally i use Lagarith for capture and Xvid for internet. VirtuallDub works great for fast resizing, croping and encoding without having to open a full application. Next time try zip, so you don't have to split file.

Cheers

erikals
11-15-2009, 04:42 PM
Steve, that rocked!! thank you! http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif

probiner, the fusion part shows visually how the lightwave and blender renders are a 100% match.
(just for reference)

i didn't think a 100% match was possible.
that rocks, because now we can make camera animation in blender 2.49, export the camera motion to lightwave, and also save the 2.49 scene as a blender scene to open it in blender 2.5, this way we can render our smoke here.

so, we can do our renders in LW, and add the smoke in Blender.
Fantastic! http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/beerchug.gif

thanks again Steve! http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif

stevecullum
11-16-2009, 09:51 AM
Your welcome!

I was working towards a blender 2.49 Rigidbody - into Blender 2.5 for the smoke - into LW for surface and rendering.

I think you can go back the other way too, setup camera motion in LW and use a .mot and an empty in Blender to setup the camera motion - although I haven't properly tested this way yet.

stevecullum
11-16-2009, 09:54 AM
Personally i use Lagarith for capture and Xvid for internet. VirtuallDub works great for fast resizing, croping and encoding without having to open a full application. Next time try zip, so you don't have to split file.

Thanks - I'll take a look at these.

BTW - the reason I had to split the .rar up was because the max size limit for zip and rar is 5MB on this forum. Its a bit restricitve.... :bangwall:

probiner
11-16-2009, 10:41 AM
zip file is 19 mb

Still not undestanding the fusion part... :D

stevecullum
11-16-2009, 10:45 AM
zip file is 19 mb

Still not undestanding the fusion part...

Doh!! Thought Zip was just as bad...

Yeah the fusion part, was just to demonstrate the perspective matching... ;)

Castius
04-06-2010, 08:33 PM
http://camstudio.org/

aidenvfx
04-06-2010, 10:02 PM
Impressive for an open source product however I am curious how much work went into creating the smoke.

I have just started digging into Houdini's pyro system and it is impressive how within 5 min one has a fire and smoke that looks as good if not better then what blender was showing. However one program is free and the other costs 8K.

OnlineRender
04-07-2010, 02:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gp7x3i6_z9s&playnext_from=TL&videos=PeWNOu6Vc9M&feature=sub

Matt
04-07-2010, 03:05 AM
I wish Blender was easier to use, looks nice.

stevecullum
04-07-2010, 03:17 AM
Impressive for an open source product however I am curious how much work went into creating the smoke.

Do you mean coding? - Lots

Do you mean end user experience? - The controls are actually pretty simple. The thing that's most tricky is getting the volumetrics to work right so you can render. Why not download and try it :)

Titus
04-07-2010, 06:47 AM
I wish Blender was easier to use, looks nice.

In one month I trained four animators, now they are very proficient with Blender and we're working in a couple of internal projects. It isn't really difficult if you commit some effort to learn it, and we're using Blender 2.49, before the overhaul to avoid problems with unstable builds.

What is contradictory in Blender, is that complex features like fluids, smoke, hard bodies, etc. are easier to use than any other programs. Usually it's a matter to click a couple of times and run the simulation.

aurora
04-07-2010, 09:32 AM
I have to agree with Titus, I can't use Blender for anything normal but with dynamics its a piece of cake. It has really come along ways since the first implementations! In fact I prefer to do fluids in Blender now over RealFlow its that easy and good!

LazyCoder
04-07-2010, 11:37 AM
I'm a regular Blender user, but I need to speak up here: Blender's dynamics are still far from looking *GREAT*. You still need to go with FumeFX for fire/smoke, and I wouldn't use it instead of RealFlow for fluids... that is... if I could afford any of those! :hey:

It's getting there though.

I made an explosion! :D

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=178192

MentalFish
04-07-2010, 12:04 PM
Hmm, I made a .chan importer and exporter for LW to transfer cam anims back and forth between LW and Nuke, perhaps I should add one for Blender too, so we can easily render smoke passes in Blender and comp them in with the beauty renders from LW...?

erikals
04-07-2010, 04:33 PM
there's a smoke simulator for LW96 in the works,
http://battlestarvfx.com/forums/
and hopefully Core will bring some decent dynamics.

to wait or not to wait, that is the question...

MentalFish
04-07-2010, 05:34 PM
there's a smoke simulator for LW96 in the works,
http://battlestarvfx.com/forums/
and hopefully Core will bring some decent dynamics.

to wait or not to wait, that is the question...

If you need smoke now that cant be done in HV then go for Blender and re-evaluate when CORE has it or Bakudan is out. Nothing to wait about :thumbsup:

stevecullum
04-08-2010, 11:56 AM
So far Bakudan has appeared to be alot of smoke and no fire

mmm...perhaps they have run into coding difficulties with the LW Classic SDK?

4dartist
04-08-2010, 12:29 PM
I think i'd give my left nut to have good fluid dynamic simulation in lightwave.

geo_n
06-04-2010, 06:59 PM
I've attempted to make a video of the process, but the quality is shocking as I didn't know the screen capture process very well! (Whats the best free one?) I think its useable though.

Sorry I had to split the file - forum limits....grr

Thanks for the video. Just cursious, why does the blender interface in your video look better?:D Is that a preset built in blender to look like core,modo?

stevecullum
06-04-2010, 07:16 PM
Thanks for the video. Just cursious, why does the blender interface in your video look better? Is that a preset built in blender to look like core,modo?

I think it's just the standard 2.5 one. Sorry can't review the movie right now, and I've forgotten what version I used for this! If it's not 2.5, I will post a bit later what the setup was.

stevecullum
06-04-2010, 07:22 PM
I think i'd give my left nut to have good fluid dynamic simulation in lightwave.


Just wondering if you only got one nut, now Turbulence is here? :D

Hieron
06-05-2010, 06:07 AM
hehe, I doubt Jascha would think that a good trade :)