PDA

View Full Version : ...more Sas, sorry...

nopictures
08-26-2003, 11:10 AM
First off, I'll admit it, I'm fairly new to the world of CGI. Before getting into Lightwave, I was using ElectricImage - and with that, I never got past version 2.9. Not that it has anything to do with my question/plea, I just thought I'd let anyone who answers know what kind of user I am. Or something. I guess.

Anyway, I'm sure everyone is super excited that there's another Sasquatch post out there! I'm sure if I went back through the posts I could eventually find an answer, but I'd much rather make another Sasquatch post to annoy everyone. Because I'm lazy and horrible. Sorry...

Anyway, I've just recently gotten into my first rounds of character animation. Never done it before. I've rendered out plenty of scenes using Sasquatch before simply creating grass on hills or a plain, but never hair on a head. Considering how easy grass seems to be, I figured, can't be too difficult. Well, apparently it is for me.

After three paragraphs, finally, here's my problem: I tried putting hair onto a head model. First, Sasquatch crashes. Apparently I had more than one layer, easy fix, my own stupid fault. Now, when I try to render with Sas, it hates my model - it says no, you can't use that model, sorry. I know you all know the message because I'm sure people have come on here saying "thing don't work i am stuck lolol!!1" or some such thing.

Okay, so Sasquatch doesn't like my model, whatever, let's try SasLite. Sure, I won't have shadows unless I composite, whatever, I don't have time. SasLite works fine... only on certain camera angles the hair dissapears. I'm thinking this has something to do with SasLite not liking transparencies - hell, that's the reason I bought Sasquatch in the first place. So, I'm thinking, once again, I need to use Sasquatch in order to actually attempt any form of animation. Still, I get that age old message: