PDA

View Full Version : Mocap software/hardware to work with Jimmy Rig?

3dWannabe
08-03-2009, 06:48 PM
I'm very interested in using Jimmy Rig for user generated mocap data.

I've been looking at http://www.ipisoft.com/gallery.php, which has a very interesting demo and is at a very interesting price point $495 for beta version working with 4 inexpensive Logitech cameras.

They include BVH samples for the demo video clips. I'm curious if these are adequate for use with Jimmy Rig (capture data seems kind of minimal. Is more detail needed?)?
http://www.ipisoft.com/animation/shoot3d_technology_preview02.bvh

I'm totally new to all of this, so I'm trying not to make any purchase mistakes. Jimmy Rig looks great (well, maybe fantastic is a better adjective), but I'm more concerned about the proper mocap software solution to go along with Jimmy Rig (that hopefully doesn't cost $5-6K) - and I need both to work together.

Or - would I regret getting the lesser software/hardware with limited frame rates, limited capture points).

Possibly I should spring for maybe an OptiTrack 'beginner' system with just a few cameras (if they even offer one with less than 6) and live on hot dogs and beans for a few years?

BTW - if anyone knows of other low priced mocap (anyone attending SIGGRAPH?), I'd be very interested in exploring other solutions.

cresshead
08-03-2009, 07:01 PM
you'll need jimmy rig pro to load motin capture data not the lite version and i'd also wait till siggy 2009 is over bfore buying any mo cap gear.

3dWannabe
08-03-2009, 07:19 PM
Yes, Oliver said there would be a beta for JR v1 owners. Haven't been able to play with it as I'm just now ironing out the details of booting Win7 on my MacPro.

I'm definitely waiting for SIGGRAPH. I'm betting we'll see some price reductions and new systems.

Greenlaw
08-03-2009, 11:24 PM