PDA

View Full Version : The Thin End of the Wedge.

Bog
08-25-2003, 04:32 PM
I'm gonna say a whole bunch of potentially irritating and annoying things here, so please direct invective, bile and outright flamage to the eddress in my profile, or via PM.

Anyway. Meat of the matter.

I've been a professional graphic artist for about a decade now. I've done 2D, 3D, still and animated. I've composited, I've edited, I've mocapped, I've done medical imaging, science fiction animation, character work, sci fi novel covers, I've blown stuff up and I've modelled, textured, lit, animated and rendered my little heart out.

I've scrounged together 20GHz of render power from all my friends to hit deadlines. I've bent over backwards, worked my mandatory 72 hours at the desk, and even moved a sleeping bag into the studio for the occasional under-the-desk catnap.

I've trashed relationships. I've been hospitalised and spent the night on a ventilator. I've been sued. I've lost assets. I've run the freaking gamut. And you know what?

I'm still worrying about where my next month's rent is coming from. And I personally know of three people who're driving Porsches and Ferraris and the like because they got rich selling on my efforts to an end client.

And I'm sick of it!

So where do I go from here? I've pretty much capped out what a 3D freelancer can make in the UK... I don't here of many people anywhere else doing any better, and I'm fundamentally still getting the thin end of the wedge. What am I doing wrong? Someone? Please tell me?

If other people are getting rich off the projects I'm on, and I'm still counting beans and going "Hooplaaah!" 'cause I can afford my LW[8] upgrade, I'm doing something badly wrong.