PDA

View Full Version : blowing thing up



skywalker113
07-28-2009, 09:12 PM
I want to blow a crater from the body of this 4 legged machine. Although crackit (plugin) is not working. Even with a simple box it does not do its thing. I am getting a error message when I try to use it. Does anyone have a idea whats going on?

SplineGod
07-28-2009, 10:22 PM
Is it a subd object?

skywalker113
07-28-2009, 10:38 PM
whats that?

SplineGod
07-28-2009, 10:52 PM
Any subpatches in the model?

Mr Rid
07-29-2009, 03:40 AM
Crackit may only work in pre-9 versions of LW.

Might also try BreakUp
http://www.mikegreen.name/Files/MGBreakUpMD.zip

skywalker113
07-29-2009, 03:07 PM
That plugin worked worked out.

Thanks guys.

prometheus
07-31-2009, 03:53 AM
the last time Ivé checked it..crackit now works with lightwave 9.6.
at least in 32 bit systems.

Be sure to get the latest plugin version at the lightwave plugin database.
it probably doesnīt work with lw 9.5 thou.

if youre up to it you can also download the houdini apprentice wich is free
and crack your objects there and export out the geometry that works..
you can even do hard fx sims and export to mdd and import in lightwave.

Michael

Mr Rid
07-31-2009, 04:20 PM
...
if youre up to it you can also download the houdini apprentice wich is free
and crack your objects there and export out the geometry that works..
you can even do hard fx sims and export to mdd and import in lightwave.

Michael

Now there's a fine tip!

Larry_g1s
07-31-2009, 05:13 PM
Now there's a fine tip!I like the BreakUp plug-in, but I've had problems with it in Win XP 64bit OS. So Houdini apprentice is not a bad tip at all.

prometheus
08-01-2009, 12:21 PM
Not to confuse things or anything, but I think break it and crack it are two
different plugins.

hereīs an old thread at spinquad and a sample scene with an mdd sim from houdini from me,nevermind me babbling about the motion blur, I wasnīt sure if that worked but it does.

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91711

Itīs a cracked box and simulated in houdini, but donīt expect fancy dynamics, itīs just a box falling nothing special. ..just tested if the export worked.

Thereīs also a tutorial link there on how to do the export using the nodes items in houdini, or go to the video directly here.
http://www.screencast.com/users/elam/folders/Default/media/f7a14368-be98-4c01-868d-58225acd91fc



this was done in houdini apprentice 9.5 ..I hope they havenīt changed anything in houdini apprentice 10 thou, canīt check out houdini 10 right now since my 3d machine isnīt connected to the net right now..have to
fix some things first or try a different licensing method to get houdini to work without the connection.

As I recall it, crackin up objects in houdini could have flaws with certain
values or it gave some artifacts using one of the crack methods, but I think sidefx were aware of it, not sure if they fixed it, you could also use other geometry types to cut up objects in different pieces.

Edit..oh..and if you get crackit to work and prefer that, but want to do more accurate sims with houdini, that goes to, just import your cracked object in to houdini.
Michael

erikals
08-03-2009, 02:48 AM
Now there's a fine tip!

um, sort of, i don't think one can use it for commercial work though... :/

Mr Rid
08-03-2009, 04:12 AM
um, sort of, i don't think one can use it for commercial work though... :/

Why of course not. :angel:

erikals
08-03-2009, 04:19 AM
so u must use Blender http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/wise.gif