PDA

View Full Version : Fiber FX Problems!

jaxtone
07-23-2009, 10:44 AM
I thought I added this thread yesterday but it seems to vanished during the night so I add it once again!

I am pretty new to the FFX interface and have a problem I donīt understand! I watched a basic tutorial by William Vaughn at:

http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/free-lightwave-9-5-fiberfx-t16982.html

I did the same as him, hopefully to get the same result, but something weird happend. When I render the scene the grass looks more like a ghost cloud than a thick lawn! See attached image!

I also noticed that FFX is dead slow as soon as shadows are added to Lightwaves render options. I run a pretty fast Quad with Vista 64 bit on it but FFX really feels like I was thrown back somwhere in the 90īs.

Anyone knows what settings are wrong in the FFX panel?

Max Wolf
07-23-2009, 11:34 AM
whats the size of obj?

Eye Bleed
07-23-2009, 02:24 PM
Try turning up the density to around 100-300. 40 is pretty sparse.

3DGFXStudios
07-23-2009, 03:17 PM
Nice effect!

jaxtone
07-23-2009, 04:10 PM
Itīs 400x400 meters!

whats the size of obj?

jaxtone
07-23-2009, 04:16 PM
Hehehe... well it was grass I wanted but if I wanted som ghost effect I agree!

Nice effect!

This is what it looks like in the Lightwave Perspective window, see attachment!

Max Wolf
07-23-2009, 05:06 PM
ok try maken a smaller one. the on in the video is like 3m x 3m

jaxtone
07-23-2009, 05:10 PM
Ok!

Thanks for letting me now.

This is kind of strange. I need a lawn with grass in the background of a road that runs for miles. I have tried to model every piece in that scene as realistic as possible.

Just wondering about how often is a lawn 3X3 meters in the real world?

ok try maken a smaller one. the on in the video is like 3m x 3m

Max Wolf
07-23-2009, 05:12 PM
um not realy anywhere but rember u dont have to make stuff to scale in 3d

jaxtone
07-23-2009, 05:41 PM
Hi MaxWolf!