PDA

View Full Version : Monitor Calibrator



crashnburn
07-13-2009, 12:05 PM
Can anyone recommend a good monitor calibrator, price is a consideration?

sbrandt
07-13-2009, 12:09 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832994006

AdamAvenali
07-13-2009, 12:10 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832994006

:agree: Spyder is the way to go.

crashnburn
07-23-2009, 01:17 PM
Has anyone used the Huey Pro?

Von Polygon
07-23-2009, 04:07 PM
Had Huey Pro. It can calibrate multiple monitors (standard Huey did not). It's easy to use, quick and pretty accurate. Drawback in my opinion is the design. It uses two strips of tiny suction cups for attaching to the monitor, over a more conventional "suspended in front of monitor" design. Problem was, after a while Huey just would not stick to the screen and I had to hand-hold it thru the calibration process... rather annoying.
Spyder looks better and costs only a fraction more.

radams
07-23-2009, 07:38 PM
Don't use a suction style unit on LEDs or Plasma Monitors...
Those were designed for CRTs.
You could damage your display with the suction style.

Spyder pro is decent...thou there are other options.

Cheers,

crashnburn
07-24-2009, 05:51 AM
The Spyder 3 here in the UK costs about 100 which equates to about $160-170 at the moment. We get ripped off here. But I am looking at the Spyder 3 as an option.

Any suggestions for options Ray?

Thanks

TheGarf
07-24-2009, 06:25 AM
Hi, does anyone know if the Spyder3 pro (the non-TV version) can also be used to calibrate HDTV's? Besides computer graphics I'm also into Home theatre and pro audio equipment and I want all my equipment running at optimal quality settings.

crashnburn
07-24-2009, 06:39 AM
There is a version of it on amazon for that purpose.

TheGarf
07-24-2009, 07:05 AM
There is a version of it on amazon for that purpose.

Thanks, but what I meant is, to save money can I do HDTV calibration with a Monitor calibration type Spyder 3 unit? I did some research and apparently you can! Some French developers made a piece of software (in English, thank god) that can calibrate a television with the Spyder 3. You can download it here:

http://www.homecinema-fr.com/colorimetre/index_en.php

radams
07-24-2009, 08:49 AM
The Spyder 3 here in the UK costs about 100 which equates to about $160-170 at the moment. We get ripped off here. But I am looking at the Spyder 3 as an option.

Any suggestions for options Ray?

Thanks

It really depends on how accurate you are looking to get, the medium you are working in, vs the costs.

Below are some links that might help...
I would not recommend the Huey...but the X-rute i1 I would.

http://www.drycreekphoto.com/Learn/monitor_calibration.htm

http://www.metalvortex.com/chart/

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/nec-lacie-lead-professional-lcd-gear,1071-16.html

http://askville.amazon.com/SimilarQuestions.do?req=calibrate-monitor-affordable-tool

http://cinespace.rsrhq.com/

If you are looking to be working with Film...then I would recomend the Cinespace system...which uses the X-rite i1 or minolta probes...but it isn't cheap.

The Spyder pro 3 is decent for multi-media...and for print...thou the X-rite can have a better color accuracy...thou it costs more.

I don't think you would go wrong with either unit...but match up the software & probe to what you are wanting it to do.

Also note that profiling a plasma is very different and requires a different probe than a CRT.

Cheers,

Matt
07-24-2009, 09:47 AM
I use the GretagMacbeth / Pantone i1Display 2

http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=788

It's not the cheapest one out there, but does a pretty decent job with minimal effort.

It does have suction cups on the back, but these are really meant for CRT monitors that are so deep you can't use the counter weight on the cord to balance the calibrator in place. You don't need to use the suckers with TFT displays, so it's not an issue at all.

crashnburn
07-24-2009, 02:15 PM
Many thanks Ray, I agree about the Huey, having had a look round there are issues. The Spyder 3 does look like a good choice, I'm doing Arch Viz and really need my monitor calibrating for that. I will have a look through your links.........appreciated.

Matt- I will have a look at the i1Display 2 aswell. Having looked at US prices, what a surprise we pay nearly double.

I will hopefully be getting one next week (got a job paying then lol)

Matt
07-24-2009, 02:18 PM
Matt- I will have a look at the i1Display 2 aswell. Having looked at US prices, what a surprise we pay nearly double.

Well that makes a change! It's usually the other way around for us poor UK peeps!