PDA

View Full Version : OT: Youtube goodness for the musical types

Dexter2999
07-11-2009, 11:33 PM
I'm not a musician but I gather there are more than a couple on these boards.
I thought these clips were pretty entertaining and I figured you guys would have a greater appreciation than I did.

They aren't new, just new to me.

Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADbmWFY7yvY&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4_f6pfabQk

The animation version was this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOIrXGd51jE

Probably shouldnt play this at work. There is some profanity.

dballesg
07-12-2009, 04:04 AM
Thanks for the links dexter.

Really funny the music ones, but the Disney one is shocking! :)

Maybe that was the real reason they were such a long time after Pixar? ;)

David

biliousfrog
07-12-2009, 10:00 AM
Fair play to Disney, hand-drawn animation is very time consuming. Look at any traditional animation, from mighty mouse to Spongebob Squarepants and you'll spot re-used elements...it's why stock libraries are so popular, it's the same principal.

Dexter2999
07-12-2009, 10:49 AM
Fair play to Disney, hand-drawn animation is very time consuming. Look at any traditional animation, from mighty mouse to Spongebob Squarepants and you'll spot re-used elements...it's why stock libraries are so popular, it's the same principal.

True enough but you are comparing mass produced animation to feature animation. And I don't equate the quality of two necessarily. One is a 90 minute unique piece done over two or three years. The other is cranking out 20 episodes at 18 minutes a pop (taking out credits and commercials)...so 360 minutes in one year.

I'm not positive but I don't think this happened while Walt Disney was still alive.* The pieces that appear to be guilty are after JUNGLE BOOK which he died before its release. THE ARISTOCATS and ROBIN HOOD two of the big culprits here.