PDA

View Full Version : Stop Bounce!



jaxtone
07-10-2009, 04:21 AM
Since itīs not so often I work with Dynamics my memory is blank when trying to make an object stop bouncing.

I have now twisted and tweaked so itīs almost there but still, the damn object is bouncing in small trembles.

Helpīs needed for sure!

Phil
07-10-2009, 04:31 AM
Someone posted this before and I wonder if the attached content (which I downloaded from the long-lost thread) helps.

EDIT : There's a long thread about this as :

http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=89874

JBT27
07-10-2009, 05:00 AM
Your Resolution setting under the File tab of dynamics is a key player here - have you messed about with that?

Julian.

jaxtone
07-11-2009, 03:29 PM
Could you please be a little bit more specific? I donīt get what you mean!

What resolution are you talking about? Any of the objects? The bounce ground object or the bouncing object?


Your Resolution setting under the File tab of dynamics is a key player here - have you messed about with that?

Julian.

shrox
07-11-2009, 03:49 PM
Here is a scene I made a few months ago. It has some hard fx settings you might find useful, you will have to run the calculations though.

http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=71920&d=1238773150

Mr Rid
07-11-2009, 10:49 PM
In the FX Browser menu- Option- 'resolution.' Usually it doesnt make much difference. I have not figured out why some scenes/objects are worse than others, it depends on your situation, but the jittery thing is a big problem and there is usually not much you can do about it. 'Stop by Stabilizer' seems to need a threshold value. Particles have the same problem when settling on a collision object set to bounce.

JBT27
07-14-2009, 02:43 AM
That's true enough - but on a recent scene that refused to work, adjusting the Resolution made all the difference. But bizarrely adjusting it in fractions of a mm, for a scene of a coin spinning that was real-world size, made very significant differences.

So I reckon it's worth pursuing and spending some time over. But it is a most irritating dynamics system, to put it mildly.

Julian.

erikals
07-16-2009, 04:57 PM
do a search for ODF on these forums, it's a rigid bodies dynamics plugin, however it does not support weights and advanced features.

alternatively get syflex

syflex can also be used as HardFX if you tweak it a little...

LW dynamics is known to be a no-go

jaxtone
07-19-2009, 10:03 PM
Hi Erikals!

Thanks for the advice about Syflex... however I feel that $2200 for the Syflex license + $400 for support seems to be a bit bouncy for my finances!

I wanīt the LW dynamics to stop bounce, not being ripped off!

:D



do a search for ODF on these forums, it's a rigid bodies dynamics plugin, however it does not support weights and advanced features.

alternatively get syflex

syflex can also be used as HardFX if you tweak it a little...

LW dynamics is known to be a no-go

erikals
07-20-2009, 12:19 AM
come to think of it, could be blender is a good alternative,...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPx8OGvJfkE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Anwk88HSWK4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QLum_cdCMA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1POuJazR5QU

hm, yep, looks like Blender is a way to go about things... http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/smilies/smile.gif

kmacphail
07-20-2009, 12:29 AM
do a search for ODF on these forums, it's a rigid bodies dynamics plugin, however it does not support weights and advanced features.

I think you mean ODE.

-K

erikals
07-20-2009, 12:38 AM
I think you mean ODE.

-K

urm... hum, yup...
a small misspell there...