PDA

View Full Version : General plugin question

Eroneouse
07-09-2009, 06:01 PM
Hi its that annoying new bloke again. I am not a complete novice when it comes to plugins, messing with 3DS max from version 3.5 onwards I used a fair few plugins to do variouse things so I am wondering now about LW plugins for the PC version.

1, Are they essential for LW 9.6 in order to achieve good professional results or can LW stand on its own two feet in that regard.

2, which are the best IE most used, most stable of the plugins out there and what do those do exactly and which are the worst most prone to cause crashes/bad results.

The main reason I am asking is if I do buy LW I want to waste as little time as possible trying loads of plugins that I may hardly ever use or that may end up crashing the program or my overall system.

A different unrelated question is would it be better to have LW on the same hard drive as the place where the renders/animations are stored or would it be better to have the program on one drive and the file storage for those on another IE would there be an overall speed increase depending on how that was set up or would it not matter at all.

I did have a look around at plugin posts but theres so many I thought I would save a couple of weeks reading and ask directly :) answers from anyone at all about plugins appreciated.

BeeVee
07-09-2009, 06:10 PM
Hi,

You don't need to try a bunch of plugins, only the ones you need to get a job done. I wouldn't be concerned, LightWave is very capable out of the box and many people use it without any addons. For your second question, I have LightWave at the root of one drive, and my content on a different drive that is also backed up (or should be). Loading and saving scene files and objects is not going to be a bottleneck for the speed of your scenes.

B

Eroneouse
07-09-2009, 06:19 PM