Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Flickr Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    South Bend, IN
    Posts
    7

    Recording on Tricaster -> edit on Final Cut Pro

    We need the ability to edit video produced on our Tricaster in Final Cut Pro on a Mac. What widgets are needed to allow us to do this?

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,895
    Last report we had here, the Regular Profile MPEG2 file captures were working in FCP with the Apple MPEG2 plugin...
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    Registered User Stumpster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    45
    Correct..

    I had it loaded on a macbook pro this morning and it looks and sounds fine but the editor said that it needed to be "rendered" before editing could take place.

    So it works but you have to wait for the rendering to finish first...not so good and time consuming for longer files.

  4. #4
    Member Of Many Adventures ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,207
    Quote Originally Posted by Stumpster View Post
    So it works but you have to wait for the rendering to finish first...not so good and time consuming for longer files.
    That's why we use SpeedEDIT!
    Just playing with ya, but I do find it amazing, the lack of native support of file types in FCP.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  5. #5
    Registered User Stumpster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    45
    Latest in fo fron another FCP client....

    Here is what the test revealed. Final Cut will play the clip in RT Unlimited but it needs to render in RT Safe mode. which means that it will need to rendered prior to being burnt to DVD. FCP rendered it at real time. (It took 32 seconds to render a 32 second clip) However the faster approach would be to use MPEG streamclip software to convert the files to a DV quicktime that will not need to be rendered. MPEG Streamclip converted the files in about half realtime. Which would be faster than loading it off of a tape.

    MPEG Streamclip also marries the audio to the video.

    Test was run on Mac OS 10.5.6 using a 2.6Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro. Final Cut Pro 6.0.5

  6. #6
    Production Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    4
    I'm trying to edit some b-roll into a project that was recorded using the tricaster.

    I'm using MAC OS X version 0.5.7 with Final Cut Pro 6.0.5 and have downloaded the Apple MPEG2 plugin.

    When I try to play back the .MPG files (in Quicktime and FCP), all I get is a black window without sound. When I play the same file on the Tricaster, it looks fine.

    Any ideas?

    I read that if you transfer files from a hard-drive that's formatted as a FAT-32, from PC to MAC, or vice-versa, the files can become corrupt. Has anyone ever encountered that?

    Thanks in advance.

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,895
    What profile did you use to record the MPEG2 file - "Studio" or "Regular"?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Production Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    4
    Under RECORD PROFILE in RECORD/STREAM the "use Mpeg studio profile" was selected. Is this the problem?

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,895
    It may well be. Reports I've seen so far seem to imply that FCP can regular profile MPEG2 files, but not the "High Profile" type the Studio profile option produces.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #10
    Production Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    4
    If the studio profile is unchecked, what happens? Quality, etc.? Would I be able to take the video from the Tricaster and drop it into FCP?

    Thanks again.

  11. #11
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,895
    So I'm told, yes. The main difference is that the Studio Profile uses 4:2:2 sampling, which is especially nice for keying. That said, the regular profile is still quite good.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  12. #12
    Production Associate
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    4
    As an update, DEselecting the "use Mpeg studio profile" makes the video and audio compatible with FCP, so long as you have the Mpeg-2 plug-in ($20 from http://www.apple.com/quicktime/mpeg2/).

    Thanks for your help, SBowie.

  13. #13
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks very much for reporting back, Dan (and please call me Steve)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  14. #14
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    469

    Studio Profile to MOV

    I heard someone here wrote a script that takes high profile MPEG recorded on tme Tricaster 850 and wraps it for use in FCP. Where can I find that?

    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  15. #15
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,895
    If I'm not mistaken, that's basically the same thing as the 'renderless' Quicktime option in Export Media - but I don't think it supports High Profile ... or at least that FCP can read them.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2000-2012, NewTek
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com