Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Flickr Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    I'm not a squirrel! Mitja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,431

    The Lanczos reconstruction filter

    I like the vray look of renders, so I have to use the famous Lanczos rec. filter.
    The problem is: what AA settings would prevent my image to have jagged edges?
    All settings that would work more than well with Mitchell, with Lanczos are nothing. Somebody has any experience with this?
    I tried with AA 6 passes, AS 0.035 and OS 0.3, but the edges are heavyly jagged, while textures are obviously perfect.

  2. #2
    Super Member Red_Oddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    A thousand years from here
    Posts
    3,338
    Mitchel and Lanczos do a lot of heavy sharpening, so when you have say for example a piece of highly reflective chrome, the highlights will get the famous edge ringing you see with sharpened footage (think DV, HD-DVD/Blu-Ray transfers of old movies).

    Best way is to just test it with the most extreme shot in you render and compare the renders (we stuck at using Gaussian, it does soften it a bit, but it doesn't oversharpen your edges)
    I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious. - Albert Einstein
    visit my company site : House of Secrets
    visit my personal site : svenneve.com

  3. #3
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Burbank, California, USA
    Posts
    12,813
    Jay told me once that the Box filter is similar to that of film, or something like that.

    A lot of people still use Classic too.
    UX / Product Design Manager
    LightWave 3D Group
    A Division of NewTek Inc.
    ______________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools

    "Beautiful things are easier to use" - Don Norman


  4. #4
    I'm not a squirrel! Mitja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,431
    I did some tests, and the oversampling helps. A value like 0.8-1 does the trick.

  5. #5
    mucho mojo nikfaulkner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    brighton,uk
    Posts
    315
    i tend to use the "gausian" setting, no idea why to be honest.

    i should probably look a bit more into the others

    "Box filter is similar to that of film"

    hmmmmmmmm interesting

    n.
    yeah alright.... we won a BAFTA http://littleloud.com/work/bsr/

  6. #6
    Vray has more than just Lanczos filtering, I don't see why you're limiting yourself to that. If you're doing animation, you want softer rather than sharper, like gaussian or classic. For stills, from another thread :

    "Do not use adaptive antialiasing in interior renders, use full sampling

    and use values of squares : 4, 9, 16, 25, 36, 49, ....,

    use classic sampling pattern, lanczos rec. filter, 0.7 oversample

    I prefer samples at 25 with no adaptive AA, as adaptive will add too much to the render in areas that no need to antialias and it will forget some areas "
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  7. #7
    I'm not a squirrel! Mitja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by toby View Post
    Vray has more than just Lanczos filtering, I don't see why you're limiting yourself to that. If you're doing animation, you want softer rather than sharper, like gaussian or classic. For stills, from another thread :

    "Do not use adaptive antialiasing in interior renders, use full sampling

    and use values of squares : 4, 9, 16, 25, 36, 49, ....,

    use classic sampling pattern, lanczos rec. filter, 0.7 oversample

    I prefer samples at 25 with no adaptive AA, as adaptive will add too much to the render in areas that no need to antialias and it will forget some areas "
    OF course it is for interiors, and obviously it's not just the rec.filter that makes vray renders so nice, but it makes lw renders very similar to vray's.
    Usually I use Mitchell btw.
    I'll try your "technique" too, as the main purpose of this whole thing was to have an option for some tipes of rendering, it's good to know if it actually works!
    Thanks!

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2000-2012, NewTek
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com