Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Spark SDI blue screen

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    75

    Spark SDI blue screen

    Getting a blue screen from my Spark SDI. It's running the lastest firmware. It was working OK just a few days ago. But today all I get is a blue screen.

    I've tried different SDI sources and resolutions (720p60 and 1080i60), different BNC cables. Check the device webpage preview and it shows blue, checked via NDI video monitor and shows blue. I should note I’m connected via Ethernet.

    Tried a factory reset. Tried reinstalling latest firmware. Still shows blue.

    The lights on the front of the unit say everything is working. Solid red power light. Solid green signal light. And flashing green run light.

    I'm at a loss. What's the problem?
    Last edited by bryanharley; 04-09-2018 at 10:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    115
    This is dumb, but make sure your SDI is plugged into the right port on the Spark. The incidental "SDI" logo on top of the Spark does not line up with the actual SDI input.
    TriCaster TC1 #1
    TriCaster TC1 #2
    NC1 Studio I/O Module
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #1
    TriCaster Mini SDI Advanced #2
    Video Nerd

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    75
    Yep, there’s only two ports - Loop and Input. I’m plugged into Input.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    75
    I should also note that I tried plugging an SDI monitor into the Loop output and don't get a signal. But I know my Input signal is good and working.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    12
    I've had this issue as well, NewTek has no idea how to fix it. I can see my spark from studio monitor from any computer on my network except my TriCaster. I've done a factory reset on TriCaster and re-installed new firmware/drivers, no luck. I think there is a bug with the Spark....hoping that the new NDI updates will resolve it.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisfore View Post
    I've had this issue as well, NewTek has no idea how to fix it. I can see my spark from studio monitor from any computer on my network except my TriCaster. I've done a factory reset on TriCaster and re-installed new firmware/drivers, no luck. I think there is a bug with the Spark....hoping that the new NDI updates will resolve it.
    Is your TriCaster set to Private/Home/Work for the type of network and not public?
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    18,280
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisfore View Post
    I can see my spark from studio monitor from any computer on my network except my TriCaster.
    This doesn't really sound like the same issue, does it? Are you seeing nothing but blue output from your Spark?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by lukerctv View Post
    This is dumb, but make sure your SDI is plugged into the right port on the Spark. The incidental "SDI" logo on top of the Spark does not line up with the actual SDI input.
    Maybe you meant 'correct' for right, but the SDI Input is the left port when looking at the front of the unit.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    75
    Never did get it working. NewTek had me send it in. I’m curious why it died.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    12
    Good question, initially it seems different. However, after I sent in my spark, got a new one, and factory reset TriCaster, I am now getting the blue screen output on my Spark SDI. TriCaster still cannot see the Spark as well (although it can see other NDI sources).

  11. #11
    Can another computer see it using NDI Studio Monitor?

    Being that you are getting a blue screen (not a black screen) it would seem to say that the TriCaster IS seeing the Spark, just that the the Spark isn't getting SDI input for some reason.

    I'd contact support.

    http://new.tk/support
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •