Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Node Editor window focus issues (with collapsed properties area)

  1. #1
    •••••••••••••••••••• rsfd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe, de
    Posts
    1,291

    Node Editor window focus issues (with collapsed properties area)

    prior to filing a bug report, I’d like to ask for confirmation:

    There are 2 types of Nodes in regard to the „Node Properties area” (the one that can be opened at the right side by default): some are available in that area, others (i.e. Gradient, Curve or Material Nodes) are not available and always open in an extra window.

    This makes the properties area somewhat obsolete (at least as long not all Nodes are to be represented in that area).
    Working with that area in collapsed state however shows an inconsistent and somewhat (to me) annoying behaviour with the Window Focus states:

    (1)
    With collapsed properties area, dbl-clicking a Node opens a separate properties window. If this window then is closed, Window Focus does not fall back to the Node Editor Window.
    If one then directly wants to delete that Node, LW usually comes up with the „Delete Motion Key” window.
    If the properties window of other Nodes (i.e. all Material Nodes) are closed, Window Focus falls back to the Surface Editor as one would expect.

    (2)
    Also, when the Node Editor Window itself is closed, Window Focus does not fall back to the Surface Editor Window, what would be expected. It falls back to the Application Window itself.

    This is on OSX 10.11.6, LW 2018.0.1 (build 3064), so confirmation for macOS welcome as also confirmations/negotiations for the Windows platform.
    Arguments to strengthen the actual behaviour also welcomed (as I simply wouldn’t see any actually).

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,199
    the node properties fly out isn’t obsolete, it’s just broken with some nodes as they don’t all use the same system to draw panels.

    that fly out should work for all. double clicking is a pita and gives this problem. hopefully a fix will be forthcoming.
    worth submitting a bug, id say.

  3. #3
    •••••••••••••••••••• rsfd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe, de
    Posts
    1,291
    gar26lw, thank you for confirmation.
    (I'd say that some Nodes would just need too much space to show up in that fly-out panel {i.e. Curve Node}, so it seems unlikely to me that all Nodes will ever show up there).

    I've waited for a possible confirmation/negotiation for the Windows platform, but it seems that there will not be any further responses…
    So I've filed it as Feature Request.

    cheers
    Last edited by rsfd; 02-15-2018 at 10:22 AM.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,199
    thanks

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •