Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Nurbs surfaces in 2018.0.1 don't work anymore?

  1. #1
    Intermediate User Shloime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Landsberg, Germany
    Posts
    72

    Nurbs surfaces in 2018.0.1 don't work anymore?

    Hi. Just updated to .0.1 and noticed that nurbs created with LWCAD don't seem to work anymore. In 2018.0 all looked fine and rendered perfectly, and now in 2018.0.1 I just get lines and a few filled polygons. No change done to the object file, just used new version of Layout. Is there any config entry I missed, some checkmark I didn't set?
    Greetings, Shloime
    ----------------------------
    Win10 64, Ryzen 5 1600, GTX 980 ti, 32 GB, LW 2018.0.1

  2. #2
    Lightwave Pimp Skonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,438
    Working fine for me.
    uh wha?

  3. #3
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,389
    One thing that users absolutely must remember is the way you install custom polygon handlers plugin class.
    such as LWCAD NURBS, EasySpline, Bezier.
    After adding plugin, you must quit Modeler, then restart it again, and then you can start adding menus.
    Custom polygon handlers are very low level plugin class.

    So, if you installed new version of LW, loaded scene, but plugin is missing, and it is asking for plugin to add, showing file requester.. No.. you can't do that with custom polygon handlers.

    If you did it above way,
    find LWCAD in Edit PlugIns,
    remove it entirely.
    Quit LW.
    Start LW.
    Add Plugin.
    Quit LW.
    Start LW again.
    Then start adding menus.

    Then you can run tool using custom polygon handler.
    If you won't do it appropriate way, very strange abnormalities can happen..
    Last edited by Sensei; 01-14-2018 at 10:56 AM.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  4. #4
    Intermediate User Shloime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Landsberg, Germany
    Posts
    72
    OK, now I understood my error: Somewhere on the LWCAD page it says "LW can display nurbs since V 2015". In my head I interpreted this as being a native ability. I didn't realize I had to install LWCAD first to use this feature.
    Happens when you take some things for granted.
    Apologies to LWGroup, error resides between my ears.
    Greetings, Shloime
    ----------------------------
    Win10 64, Ryzen 5 1600, GTX 980 ti, 32 GB, LW 2018.0.1

  5. #5
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    80

    LWCAD [WSUR] Nurbs Surfaces not displaying applied morphs in Layout

    Using LW2018.0.1

    I already submitted a report to WTools, just seeking confirmation here...

    Morphs applied to simple LWCAD nurbs (flat) surfaces are visible only while in Vertices view. When a morph is applied to nurbs surfaces, only the (base) position is displayed or rendered. The scene & morphs I'm testing worked fine in LW2015.3, and newly created nurbs surfaces will reproduce the effect. The Morph Mixer modifier is checked and placed at the bottom of the modifier stack.

  6. #6
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,389
    Quote Originally Posted by Meshman View Post
    Using LW2018.0.1
    But what with LW 2018.0 Build 3063... ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Meshman View Post
    I already submitted a report to WTools, just seeking confirmation here...

    Morphs applied to simple LWCAD nurbs (flat) surfaces are visible only while in Vertices view. When a morph is applied to nurbs surfaces, only the (base) position is displayed or rendered. The scene & morphs I'm testing worked fine in LW2015.3, and newly created nurbs surfaces will reproduce the effect. The Morph Mixer modifier is checked and placed at the bottom of the modifier stack.
    Sub-patches are frozen in Layout 1) when object is loaded to Layout and/or 2) every single frame.
    From your description it sounds to me that freeze of sub-patches were done only after loading object to Layout,
    instead of freezing them every single frame.

    How about such case: set frame to some other than 0/1. Imagine you have 100% morph at 20 frame. Set frame 20.
    Save scene. To store current frame in file.
    Reload scene.
    Is it in base position or at morphed?
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  7. #7
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    80
    Thanks Sensei,

    LW 2018.0 Build 3036 showed the same issue. I updated to 2018.0.1 with the hope that the issue would be resolved.

    Setting up a new scene with a morph applied and saved as you instructed produces the same results. The morph bounding box and vertices move but the surface remains in it's base position.

  8. #8
    morph should be before subdivision?

  9. #9
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,389
    Quote Originally Posted by UnCommonGrafx View Post
    morph should be before subdivision?
    Good idea, to check.

    LW normally asks custom polygon handler to give mesh at every frame.

    But in LW2018, you do it using drag'n'drop modifiers in hierarchy..
    Last edited by Sensei; 01-14-2018 at 12:50 PM.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  10. #10
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by UnCommonGrafx View Post
    morph should be before subdivision?
    I've tried switching the positions in the modifier stack. And yes, only when the Morph Mixer is placed below Subdivision does the morph's bounding box become visible, and show the animation when scrubbing the timeline. The mesh remains displayed at base position.

  11. #11
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,389
    Normal way of applying morphing is by using Node Editor.
    Vertex Maps > Morph Map.. to Displacement input.

    Once vertex is modified by Node Editor (and Morph Map node).

    It has to be subdivided by custom polygon handler.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •