Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VSE standalone licence question

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6

    VSE standalone licence question

    Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask, I didn't know better!

    We have Tricaster Mini Advanced Edition. There are two virtual set editors installed: VSE 2.5 and VSE 2 advanced edition. I would like to use the VSE AE on a separate computer to facilitate experimenting with virtual sets.

    In the download area I see that I can download VSE, but is it suited for a standalone PC?
    And what about licensing? My invoice says I have bought a "single licence" for VSE AE together with the TC AE upgrade. Do I have to buy a second licence for the standalone use or can I transfer the license from the TC to the standalone PC?

    Thanks in advance for pointing me into the right direction...

    Cheers, RALF

    PS: I forgot to ask if I will gain speed / flexibility in the editing process at all. In case I have the VSE working on a separate machine, will I be able to export rendered sets to the tricaster without exiting the TC's live mode? (BTW: both machines are on the same network and do already share resources.)

  2. #2
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,266
    Locate the box the VSE cane in or the card which should have two serial numbers. One you used on your TriCaster MINI. The other is used on a stand alone computer.
    You gain the ability to not have to run back and forth to the TriCaster to compile the virtual set in TriCaster VSE. This alone will save you a lot of time
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  3. #3
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,266
    Tip;
    Use the Installer feature once your Virtual set is completed. If you are only using for your company, then in the Company field type in the name you want to group the virtual set into. Example Weather sets or Morning News. Now move installer exe to your TriCaster and install. When you search in Live to load the set in, the company field becomes the folder name to organize your sets

    Other thing I forgot is you also get stand alone ASC on your external computer
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    Thank you very much for the info, Jose, and sorry for the late reply. I had other projects runnig in Dec and am getting back to Tricaster again the next days/weeks.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    46
    Hello,

    I have reinstalled my computer and must also reinstall the VSE. I have 2 serial numbers. How do I find out with what the Tricaster we are using and which one is for the standalon version? Do I have to install the version 2.5 first and then update to the advanced version or can I immediately install the advanced version.

    Hartmut
    Tricaster 460AE2 + 460CS
    3 x JVC GY-HM890
    Panasonic AW-UE70
    Newtek PTZ1 | Newtek Spark HDMI | Newtek Spark SDI

  6. #6
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    323
    They are both stand alone versions.
    GO here and login: register.newtek.com
    And go to My Products and it will show you what software and hardware you have registered and the associated serial numbers.
    If you haven't done it yet, register an account.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •