Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Control Surface camera control of Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    95

    Control Surface camera control of Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

    Hi,
    Hoping there are simple to answers to these two basic PTZ camera questions:
    Set up: TC 460 AE2 latest build, (2) Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1 cameras, Pripp-Lite POE Switch
    1) I am able to control one camera via the CS joystick, (hold down shift key and proceed). How do I select the other camera so it can be controlled via the joystick ?
    2) How do I erase the PTZ camera presets images ?
    Thanks
    DaveO

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,758
    You can clear a preset by right clicking is icon and using the menu. Presets are camera based now, so I'm not certain whether this clears the camera preset too or not. The manual explains how to delegate the joystick to different cameras. I'm not able to look it up for you just now, but you should find it in chapter 21 or 22.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    To select a different camera to control, while holding down SHIFT on the CS, one of the M/E Virtual Input Delegate buttons will be lit up, press the M/E number of that matches the camera you wish to control.

    The PTZ images are stored in the session, there isn't a way to remove them from the TriCaster user interface that I'm aware of. I tried righting clicking as Steve mention but I do not get a menu. As Steve mentions, since presets are stored in the camera itself removing the image from the UI will not remove the preset location in the camera.
    Last edited by kanep; 10-14-2017 at 03:53 PM.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  4. #4
    Sr Programmer Analyst
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Jamestown, MO
    Posts
    14
    One concern is your PoE switch... that appears to be regular PoE (Not PoE+). PoE is 15w, PoE+ is 25 w... you'll need the greater power to make use of the PTZ. THe camera will come on with PoE, but you can't control it with that reduced power.

    Hope this makes sense.

    Chad

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Posts
    2
    I have 3 NDIHX-PTZ1 cameras hooked up to a TC1 and I'm finding the "Follow Preview" doesn't seem to be working right. It's selected on the CS but when I switch in the Preview bus, the Key bus doesn't change. However, if I then press PTZ SEL, the camera selected in Preview will light up in the Key bus. But unless I use the PTZ SEL to select a camera in the Key bus, it doesn't change which camera is being controlled. I thought the "Follow Preview" would allow me to select the camera to control using the Preview bus?

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    67
    I have the same problem than you. As far as I know it's on the bug list.

    Which software version did you make the tests with ?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Posts
    2
    I think everything is up to date, TC1 = 171029 and the PTZs = VHR110.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    67
    Hi, just to let you know, I made a bit more tests yesterday.

    I was not using NDI cameras but Panasonic HE130, but the concept is the same, and same problem than you.

    I found a workaround, by creating several macros, each of them include the selection of a different PTZ camera from the CS ( you go into macro record mode, and make the selection from the CS, you'll see three lines created in the macro then).
    Then I assigned these macros to the Preview state for each concerned input, and deselected the regular follow preview feature.

    And voila, then it works as expected. Hope this helps.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    95

    When using a CS 450 one more thing

    On my 450 CS with upgraded buttons for TC460 AE I need to hold down the CTRL to select the PTZ camera in inputs 1,2,3,4 or Shift and CTRL if PTZ's are in position 5,6,7,8 while selecting via the virtual input buttons. Couldn't find this in the manual but did discover via trial and error.

    Both my new NDIHX-PTZ1, Newtek, (Marshal) ptz cameras, continue to hunt a bit after I stop controlling via the CS. I've upgraded to newest AE and Camera software so maybe a future patch will correct for this.
    Nice cameras.


    [QUOTE=kanep;1520306]To select a different camera to control, while holding down SHIFT on the CS, one of the M/E Virtual Input Delegate buttons will be lit up, press the M/E number of that matches the camera you wish to control.

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,758
    For reference, this is in Section 21.4.10 in the TC AE manual, under the heading PTZ control.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •