Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: iris control, imager size, and gain question

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    135

    iris control, imager size, and gain question

    I posted this in another thread, but I think it got buried.

    1. What is the size of the chip and how many? 1/4"?
    2. I am running my 1/3" cams at a 3.2 iris and the NDI cams have to run at 30db gain in order to see in the same light. Is there some other setting I am missing or are they just light hungry due to the chipset? (Yes, I RTFM)
    3. I can't seem to get the TC (8000) to control the iris at all. Any tips?

  2. #2
    Hi Dhodlick,


    Per B&H, the sensor size 1/2.8" - made by Sony.
    We are NOT having the same gain issue. We run a couple of other Sony cameras (Z150 and NX5) and the PTZ is at 0 gain and matches exposure pretty closely. I have not RTFM - at least not completely, so I am not sure what could be happening with yours. (maybe 60p vs 30p? But it should not make that much of a difference)

    We are having the same issue with the iris. Also, when we set a preset in the tricaster, sometime the camera will move a bit when we re-select the preset.
    Plus, if we set focus manually and then save a preset, it does not store the manual focus setting, so when we go back to that preset, and click the advanced button, auto focus is selected.
    Is this a global setting or is it saved with each preset?

    Lastly, for us, it seems best to use the remote control to get the shot exactly how we want it, then save the preset on the tricaster. Since we can't seem to control iris or have actual fine tune over focus/movement on the tricaster, the remote works great. This might change once we get the Xbox controller (or other joystick) to work via studio monitor, but for now the remote is perfect. PLUS, the camera menu only appears on the SDI output! This means we can hook up a local monitor to the camera, make the adjustments right there, then save the presets back at control. Actually, that is the ONLY way to see the on-board menus unless you have run an SDI cable back to the Tricaster (which we also do because we enjoy our redundant redundancies).

    But I would still like to know what's up with the iris control.

    Andrew
    Tricaster 460AE2 + LC-11
    Rack: Router, switch, backup encoder, captioning devices, audio mixer , etc
    Cameras: Sony FS700, Z150, NX5, NewTek PTZ1, Spark
    http://reddogrecords.com

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    135
    Hey Andrew - Thanks for your input. I'm on the B&H site and there is no mention of the sensor size, outside of a B&H staff member giving their thoughts. Until NewTek themselves confirms, I'll hold off on believing the salesman. If it really does have the same sensor size as the Panasonics, I'd be even more impressed with the price point and even more disappointed in the performance.

    I am not sure what's going on then with the cams. We've got 4 of these things now, and they're actually sitting in the boxes behind me - ready to go back to B&H with the RMA already printed. For what we're doing - iris control, and reliable iris control, is a must have.

    We also ran into the focus memory issue. In addition, the auto-iris appears to override whatever selection has been set in the remote menu. We've done what you did: built the shot in the remote, set it as a preset in the TC (complete with iris, focus, color, etc) and when we select the preset again - the iris has changed. Have you also seen the apparent randomness activity in the remote menus when it comes to selecting iris, gain, and other settings?
    Last edited by dhodlick; 10-10-2017 at 07:52 AM.

  4. #4
    Yes, we also saw the random setting issues. We also noticed the preset position would shift slightly when reselecting the preset.
    I was really hoping to have more accurate control over the camera and the latest firmware just doesn't seem to fix things. Hopefully they can get these issues fixed quickly because I like the camera. I do wish it came with a lens cover though!
    Tricaster 460AE2 + LC-11
    Rack: Router, switch, backup encoder, captioning devices, audio mixer , etc
    Cameras: Sony FS700, Z150, NX5, NewTek PTZ1, Spark
    http://reddogrecords.com

  5. #5
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,505
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, TC 8000, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, 3Play Mini, 3Play 4800, TS 100, TS 4000

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    135
    All four of these cameras were returned. They were completely unuseable for what we need here

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    We are NOT having the same gain issue.
    We've got a number of these around here, and had one in poor light for quite some time side-by-side with another highly regarded camera. Performance seemed similar, if not identical. So I don't know what to attribute any low light issue to.

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    Also, when we set a preset in the tricaster, sometime the camera will move a bit when we re-select the preset.
    TriCaster simply tells the camera to recall the preset stored on it (the camera, that is). So if you're seeing motion when the same preset is applied twice in succession, this suggests something has moved in the interim. Assuming no-one is touching anything, I'd suggest close scrutiny to see whether this happens if you remove TriCaster from the control chain (e.g., use Studio Monitor instead). A little drift could possibly be being induced either by a CS controller or the software one, those the latter seems even less likely.

    As to storing focus settings (including AF) in the preset, I was under the impression that it did this - but I've looked at way to many different cameras lately, and may be mis-remembering. Still, if it doesn't, it may be a bug.

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    But I would still like to know what's up with the iris control.
    I'd bug this, if you haven't already.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    135
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    We've got a number of these around here, and had one in poor light for quite some time side-by-side with another highly regarded camera. Performance seemed similar, if not identical. So I don't know what to attribute any low light issue to.
    Compared to a Sony PMW-300k1 as well as a Panasonic 130, the image was sub-par in regards to color reproduction, detail, blacks and light sensitivity. Now, I'm not new at this game - I know that a three 1/2" chip HD cam is almost always going to look better than a single chip, but the differences between the PTZ1 and the Sony's kicked the PTZ1's out of contention since we were going to be cutting between these cameras. That, and the image breathing (bug report was submitted) over NDI coupled with the lack of iris and focus memory/control made these a non-starter for us as well.

    The light sensitivity and gain issue I mentioned earlier may actually have been related to the iris issue talked about above. I decided to give them another shot and took them all back out of the boxes and did a factory reset on all of them, confirmed the latest firmware, and turned on the lights in the studio. Using Studio Monitor to paint them up correctly via a chip chart, I was able to run them in lower gain than before - but still had to run gain, while the 300k's are comfortably at a 2.8 with no gain. Same distance to chart, same light, signal to TC was SDI from both.

    We've got a tremendous amount of $ invested in NewTek gear. The American Cancer Society is a HUGE fan of NewTek and its products, and will continue to be. I suspect that my expectations were just a tick too high with these cameras - and that's more of my problem than NewTek's.

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,767
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    But I would still like to know what's up with the iris control.
    I'd bug this, if you haven't already.
    Just fyi - I see this was bugged by QA on the 28th, and is reported as fixed today. (The fix will need to be tested by QA, and then will appear in the next public release.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •