Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AE 5-1, what's new?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    129

    AE 5-1, what's new?

    So I see AE 5-1 is available. Is it worth upgrading? What's new with it? Will it make my life easier and our shows more awesome?
    Operations Manager, WBUP/WBKP
    TC 8000 AE

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    925
    I don't know for sure...performance and stability for starts. I have a Mini with AE 4-0, and a TC1. Though TC1 has its own software, TC1 software features should be on par with AE 5 for consistency (TC has its own software because of 4K and Skype support..and being Windows 10-based). One difference I can see is the NDI control option offered in PTZ camera setup. That's new.

    AE 5-1 Read Me shows 8 camera iso-recording for 8000 - I believe the number of recordings had been reduced to 4 for a while with older software if memory serves. So there's that if it matters to your workflow.

    Maybe Newtek staff can chime in with AE 5-1 benefits they are aware of.

    I'll probably update my Mini today because I just got the NDI PTZ camera and need to test that. Then I might more readily see differences directly between 4-0 and 5-1.

    Thanks
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: PTZ Optics 20x SDI

  3. #3
    - 8 Quicktime IsoRecording channels on 860/8000 systems
    - NDI Access Manager in Add-ons
    - 15 second session auto-start
    - 'Add to' GFX and DDR option in import window
    - Ability to change control surface button order using 'surfaces' tool in Add-ons
    - Macro ability to import/export M/E presets and DDR playlists
    - Performance improvements

    That is what I can recall off the top of my head. I probably missed a few.
    Last edited by kanep; 09-14-2017 at 11:23 AM.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Lock Haven, PA
    Posts
    11
    Well don't forget " No longer works with Avid Artist Mix control surface "
    This really put the screws to us with our brand new system we just purchased. Thanks NewTek.

  5. #5
    As far as I'm aware Rev 5-1 should work with the Avid Artist Mix. What is happening? I'll have to try my unit when I get back.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Lock Haven, PA
    Posts
    11
    Hi Kane, Tried to reply to your PM but it says you've exceeded your inbox capacity. Anyway, Thank you for your help. We were getting the "Windows can not find EuHUI.exe...." error but we found a what around it when all the other conventional methods didn't work. So far so good.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    peru
    Posts
    316
    Hi i have AE 5-1 and work fine with artis mix console, i install the last driver that avid has in his website for artis mix and everything work fine after that

    Tricaster is the best thing that i've used since I played with my atari
    Gear Used:
    Tricaster: All 3Play:440
    Cam: JVC GY-HM600, GY-HM150U
    Facebook
    Twitter

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •