Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Would that be legal?

  1. #1

    Would that be legal?

    Hello community.

    I have never used LightWave for real commercial jobs, but I am starting to do some projects for my employer and I just encountered a dilemma.

    So I know I have only purchased one seat of LightWave, and I am not pro-piracy. But what is stopping me from installing my copy of LightWave on a computer at the office and developing while my computer at home is rendering?

    Does LightWave track usage (By IP or something) and submit that data to see if somebody has more than one computer running their software?

    What should I do?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by michaeldejong View Post
    Hello community.

    I have never used LightWave for real commercial jobs, but I am starting to do some projects for my employer and I just encountered a dilemma.

    So I know I have only purchased one seat of LightWave, and I am not pro-piracy. But what is stopping me from installing my copy of LightWave on a computer at the office and developing while my computer at home is rendering?

    Does LightWave track usage (By IP or something) and submit that data to see if somebody has more than one computer running their software?

    What should I do?
    Well with each license you get free render nodes. So you could set up command lines to call the lwsn file, which is the render node executable, and you'd be fine.

    To my knowledge NewTek does not collect information like that.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

  3. #3
    Robert Ireland bobakabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    2,701
    Quote Originally Posted by ernpchan View Post
    Well with each license you get free render nodes. So you could set up command lines to call the lwsn file, which is the render node executable, and you'd be fine.

    To my knowledge NewTek does not collect information like that.
    I recently fired up LW without realising it was running on another machine and it opened in demo mode. I've no idea if the two machines communicated in some way (they share the same internet connection) or if it was just a random thing. However, the demo version triggered alarm bells as ir had some specialist plugins and I had deadline to meet. Once I suspected the cause and shut both versions down, the license worked again with only one version opened. Since then, for fear of license error hell I've avoided the same scenario. It would be good if someone could confirm how the licensing operates but I really don't begrudge a company protecting against potential piracy. Has anyone else experienced this?

    Btw, you can work with multiple instances on the same machine. I once rendered two scenes out at the same time though at exactly half the speed. You can also model whilst you're rendering.
    Last edited by bobakabob; 09-13-2017 at 06:18 PM.
    Art and photography Flickr site
    Animation and modelling WIP Croman
    Assorted animations Robert Ireland

  4. #4
    I think this is a question for customer support and sales don't you? Contact them with how many uses you are allowed and how to do it. Most licenses these days allow you to run on two of your own machines. For rendering I agree with the solution of setting up and running a node remotely.

  5. #5
    Super Member Paul_Boland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland.
    Posts
    930
    The way it works is that you can't run the same program (modeller or layout) on two computers on the same network. So if you install it at work while your home computer is rendering, both versions will work. But if you had layout rendering on your desktop at home and started up layout on your laptop at home, and both computers are on the same home network, the second copy started up - the laptop copy, will start up in demo mode. You can install Lightwave on lots of computers but can only run it legally on one of them at any time.
    KnightTrek Productions
    http://www.knighttrek.com

  6. #6
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,735
    IMO, your employer should provide you with a license at their work place. But if you do use your personal license on a work computer you don't own, remember to remove your personal key if you ever leave your position.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,012
    What @ernpchan said.

  8. #8

    it would be very nice to know.

    what if i want to compute ClothFX on a second machine for example.

    ------

    just sent an email, let's see... ..
    Last edited by erikals; 09-15-2017 at 09:21 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  9. #9

    You can install Lightwave on lots of computers but can only run it legally on one of them at any time.
    if so, i think they should change it. especially with Blender gaining terrain.
    why lose customers with cumbersome rules if you don't have to.

    Particles > better in Blender
    Cloth > better in Blender
    CA > better in Blender
    Modeling > often better in Blender
    Motion Graphics > better in Blender

    and so on...
    i stick with LightWave because of workflow, and i don't need more LightWave limitations. neither do you.
    Last edited by erikals; 09-15-2017 at 09:31 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  10. #10

    nope.

    to shorten the answer from NT >
    you are only allowed to use 1 version of LightWave, however it can be installed on multiple machines.

    the policy is not likely to change.
    so if you want to use another PC to compute slow ClothFX, you need an additional license.

    luckily it seems i am turning to Syflex for cloth.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  11. #11
    Just call me "Ray" raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    298
    I'm seeing two questions.

    The first question, and title of the discussion, is answered as "no" in the EULA.

    "This License allows you to use one copy of the Software on a single computer at a time."

    The second question is if you can technically get away with violating the license. So there's little reason to sincerely ask the first question.

    As otherwise noted, you can use the free rendering nodes. It is probably better to render on networked computers at work anyway as there would be more computing resources than at home.

    If you use the USB dongle for licensing, there's no need to install LW @ work. LW can run portably from a USB thumb drive. You'll only need to install the sentinel drivers for the dongle. This also addresses the matter mentioned by Greenlaw. You don't need to worry about leaving behind a license if you always keep it with you. I run LW portably from my keychain...so when I leave for the day, I can't get in my car without bringing LW with me.

    Bear in mind that an employer that does not purchase the tools to perform a job, may not be fairly compensating the individual that must spend considerable time to learn those tools. Don't get ripped off by your employer.

  12. #12

    Bear in mind that an employer that does not purchase the tools to perform a job,
    may not be fairly compensating the individual that must spend considerable time to learn those tools.
    Don't get ripped off by your employer.
    totally, however i think most employers would. and if they don't suggest it, suggest it for them.
    for an employer a LightWave license is only pennies anyway. if they can't afford that, take that as a warning sign.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  13. #13
    if you have the ram - you can have many copies of lw open all doing different things. You can also use task manager to tell which lw gets more resources. sometimes it's easier to do that than set up a render node.

    also if you are modeling with lw's open and rendering - set your modeler to high in the task manager, and it wont slow down as much as it now will get cpu priority.

  14. #14
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    811
    not sure what the law is in Canada, but in the uk your not technically allowed by law to use personnel software in the workplace as its considered a type of tax fraud as all work materials have to be accounted for by the employer, its the same with many free softwares, the last company I worked for we were not allowed to install things like microsoft essentials after the tax man did an audit, all software had to have an audit trail, and they did randomly check machines during audits (although the chances of it happening are slim it can happen) so like what was said above your employer should be supplying the tools if your doing the work,
    Intel i7 5960X Extreme, Asus Rampage V extreme, 3x 4gb NVIDIA Geforce GTX970, 32GB DDR4 2666 corsair dominator
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,012
    Quote Originally Posted by rustythe1 View Post
    not sure what the law is in Canada, but in the uk your not technically allowed by law to use personnel software in the workplace as its considered a type of tax fraud as all work materials have to be accounted for by the employer, its the same with many free softwares, the last company I worked for we were not allowed to install things like microsoft essentials after the tax man did an audit, all software had to have an audit trail, and they did randomly check machines during audits (although the chances of it happening are slim it can happen) so like what was said above your employer should be supplying the tools if your doing the work,
    Not only that.. in UK.. (AFAIK anyway) anything you produce.. even in your spare time.. they pretty much own it. Luckily, not all places in the world are as draconian.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •