Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rack mount UPS for Tricaster 8000

  1. #1
    Registered User DStoneburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    University of Central Florida, Orlando
    Posts
    134

    Rack mount UPS for Tricaster 8000

    I just got a TC 8000 and I'm putting it in a road kit. I'll have a 16 channel audio board and some other same gear. I'm looking for suggestions for a rack mount UPS that would work best for the 8000. Thanks.

    Sorry for the typos, for some reason I'm getting a double image when I type this in. thanks

  2. #2
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,125
    APC SMT1500RMUS should fit most racks

    After you do your power draw calculations, you might need to go with the bigger brother, APC Smart-UPS X 2000VA Rack/Tower.

    Keep in mind the big brother is a really long guy. Do your measurements based off the specs on the APC site.
    Last edited by PIZAZZ; 04-20-2017 at 02:32 PM.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  3. #3
    Registered User DStoneburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    University of Central Florida, Orlando
    Posts
    134
    Thanks I'll take a look.

  4. #4
    Registered User DStoneburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    University of Central Florida, Orlando
    Posts
    134
    There is something else about UPS that I heard that is needed to run the 8000 if the power goes out. If the UPS doesn't have it, it won't run the TC correctly due to the dual power supplies. Something that keeps the UPS from doing a perfect sine wave in the power or something along those lines. Does that make any sense? I heard this but can't remember what it's called.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,411
    You want a pure sine wave UPS, not a simulated or step sine wave version. The power supplies don't like that cheaper method.

    Kris
    TriCaster: 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    CG: LiveText2 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5 (SDI & ATEM with Tactical Fiber)
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

  6. #6
    Registered User DStoneburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    University of Central Florida, Orlando
    Posts
    134
    Thanks

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,482
    There is a section on this on the manual, if that helps.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,488
    I've found a Killawatt a useful device for UPS planning. It can measure actual VA draw of stuff plugged into it. Runs $30 or so on Amazon.
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, TC 8000, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, 3Play Mini, 3Play 4800, TS 100, TS 4000

  9. #9
    Registered User DStoneburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    University of Central Florida, Orlando
    Posts
    134
    I ended up ordering the APC Smart-UPS X 2000VA Thank you for all the input.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •