Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Google Update Helper -- How do I get rid of it?

  1. #1
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134

    Talking Google Update Helper -- How do I get rid of it?

    Hi there,

    For some reason, when I first bought my TC460, I thought it would be good idea to install Chrome web browser. Then I started getting the "Installed Programs" warning every time I booted up and shutdown, so I un-installed Chrome. But I can;t seem to get rid of this "Google Update Helper" program and I'm still getting the "Installed Programs" screen. Any hints?

    Thanks so much!

    Lance
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  2. #2
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    I gave up trying and am resetting the system. Ugh. Learned my lesson.
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  3. #3
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    Hi there,

    OK I am trying to re-install AE2 and cannot see how to do it. In Administrator I click on "Update Tricaster" and get "Page Not Found". In my NewTek account I have no link to re-download AE2.

    Help please and thank you as always!

    Lance
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  4. #4
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134

    Found it

    Found it, on the public downloads page!
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  5. #5
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,655
    Downloads were moved quite some time back now to the Updates and Downloads page on the main NewTek website. You will be able to locate the AE downloads there.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #6
    Senior Video Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,421
    FYI The backup and restore option on your TriCaster's system drive will allow you to create a back up image to an external drive with the latest software updates.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Video Specialist
    NewTek Inc.
    new.tk/call

  7. #7
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    I find it nearly impossible to find the AE version I'm running -- can you gimme a hint?

    I think maybe the public download is not the latest/greatest? -- it doesn't look the same, for example there is a "SOUND" tab on the bottom right and no GFX2 tab, it's just not the same AE2 interface as I had before. Suggestions?
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,655
    The Help>About feature in Startup on launch will give you a version number, or you can press Alt+b while live and read the version number in the error flash area in the titlebar. You should have both Sound and GFX2 in any AE version, though. You might need to launch a new session if you have jumped versions.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  9. #9
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    TCXD460 2-2-140203
    Is that current?
    So weird that interface looks significantly different than I had before...
    Thank you!
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,655
    2-2 is not an Advanced Edition build. (It's an obsolete Standard Edition one.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #11
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    So... I guess I'll do the download/install again. That newtek.com public Downloads page has the latest/greatest, correct?
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  12. #12
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    17,655
    Yes. Make sure the downloader you use is for AE.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  13. #13
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    Well... on hold, just passed the hour mark on hold... after AE V2 re-install the system is asking me for a new coupon code, my existing one doesn't work, so the studio is at a standstill. All this to get rid of a bothersome screen reminding me of Google Helper app being installed. Ugh.
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  14. #14
    Exec Producer TV Webinars
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by lance.a.simon View Post
    Well... on hold, just passed the hour mark on hold... after AE V2 re-install the system is asking me for a new coupon code, my existing one doesn't work, so the studio is at a standstill. All this to get rid of a bothersome screen reminding me of Google Helper app being installed. Ugh.
    Got it!!
    Lance ("L.A.") Simon
    www.TVWebinars.com
    Lance@TVWebinars.com
    (240) 400-0432

    TC460, Advanced Edition V2, NDI Transmit, VSE-AE, LiveText
    Panasonic AW-HE120, Canon XF-305, Canon VIXIA HF G40

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    925
    Hi Lance,

    I printed on a small piece of paper the following -

    SE - NAXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXX
    AE - NAXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXX

    These are my serials for SE and AE, with corresponding 6-digit codes. This is taped onto my TriCaster so I never have to search for that info. I recently did both a Restore (to SE) and an AE update in the field right before a show, no worries.

    When installing new software, I choose the DOWNLOAD option rather than INSTALL. Then I copy the downloaded files (in properly labeled folder = version number) to my D: drive do that if/when I do a Restore, I have the software ready to immediately re-install.

    When I download and install new TriCaster software, I keep the old version (on D: drive) in case new version is buggy so that I can revert if need be.

    I also keep copies of software on a USB 3.0 thumb drive that is always with me.

    It's some of the simplest things that can make life so much easier!

    Thanks

    Jeff

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •