Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112
Results 166 to 173 of 173

Thread: Hurleyworrks Nvidia Flex engine inside Lightwave

  1. #166
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    1,099
    Yup, that was done using instances, but you can just as easily do it using clones if you wanted. Obviously you can have a lot more instances than clones so that's why we went that route.
    That was true in earlier versions of AP but the current version does not Clone items with geometry

  2. #167
    Super Member jboudreau's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    800
    Hi guys is it just me or is there no way to change your surface in Hurley Works UP plugin. From what I can tell you have to create your surface before running the simulation so it saves the surface to the sequence of meshes. But what happens if you want or have to tweak your surface after the fact? Would you have to change the surface for every single mesh? Am I missing something here?

    Thanks,
    Jason
    VFX Artist / 3D Animator
    Animatrix Productions

    Dell T7600 Dual XEON E5-2687W 3.8GHz / Dell M6700 i7 -3940XM 3.9GHz
    64GB Ram / 32GB Ram
    Nvidia Quadro K5000 / Nvidia Quadro K5000M
    Windows 7 x64

  3. #168
    Registered User samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by jboudreau View Post
    Hi guys is it just me or is there no way to change your surface in Hurley Works UP plugin. From what I can tell you have to create your surface before running the simulation so it saves the surface to the sequence of meshes. But what happens if you want or have to tweak your surface after the fact? Would you have to change the surface for every single mesh? Am I missing something here?

    Thanks,
    Jason
    Its possible to change it after baking. Many ways to do it. Same as when using realflow, blender with lightwave.

  4. #169
    Registered User samurai_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    lalaland
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by stevecullum View Post
    I think 'diffuse particles' are supported by Flex, which would make the fluid sims more realistic - is that something you will be able to explore also?
    Quote Originally Posted by hurley View Post
    Yes!
    Cool! That means tiny, tiny droplets and foam as secondary effects from fluid collision.

  5. #170
    Super Member jboudreau's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    800
    Quote Originally Posted by samurai_x View Post
    Its possible to change it after baking. Many ways to do it. Same as when using realflow, blender with lightwave.
    okay thanks, I never used the blender or realflow workflow before.

    Thanks,
    Jason
    VFX Artist / 3D Animator
    Animatrix Productions

    Dell T7600 Dual XEON E5-2687W 3.8GHz / Dell M6700 i7 -3940XM 3.9GHz
    64GB Ram / 32GB Ram
    Nvidia Quadro K5000 / Nvidia Quadro K5000M
    Windows 7 x64

  6. #171
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,082
    Quote Originally Posted by jboudreau View Post
    okay thanks, I never used the blender or realflow workflow before.

    Thanks,
    Jason
    This might help...
    http://www.clintons3d.com/plugins/lightwave/sosl.html
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  7. #172
    Super Member jboudreau's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    800
    Quote Originally Posted by stevecullum View Post
    Thanks, I'll take a look at that script
    Jason
    VFX Artist / 3D Animator
    Animatrix Productions

    Dell T7600 Dual XEON E5-2687W 3.8GHz / Dell M6700 i7 -3940XM 3.9GHz
    64GB Ram / 32GB Ram
    Nvidia Quadro K5000 / Nvidia Quadro K5000M
    Windows 7 x64

  8. #173
    Registered User Norka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    224
    Yeah, that might come in handy.

    I'm very happy to report that AP is working out great. Even plays nice in scenes that already have hundreds of thousands of instances of grass, trees etc, when I just want to toss some random stuff here and there. Great stuff. Okay, no more AP discussion in UP thread.
    Last edited by Norka; 03-27-2017 at 06:30 PM.

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •