Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: LiveSets... where are the full-res graphics?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Skokie, IL
    Posts
    12

    LiveSets... where are the full-res graphics?

    Hi, all —

    This is probably a dumb question, but let me set it up anyway.

    I work at a high school and have no budget for the LiveSet Editor license.
    I recently did a live webcast of one of our basketball games, and decided to use the Space News dual-box virtual set for putting a camera in the A inset window, and a shot of the scoreboard in the B inset window*. It looked really nice, but in a conversation with a co-worker, we decided it would look nicer with a custom backdrop. Sorry to say, but only one of the double-box virtual sets included with the TriCaster actually looks nice (I forget its name, but it's a simple blue and red swirled background), and it gets too much use. The Space News screen was a departure from the norm for us, but still wasn't custom enough. The webcast version looked like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GBB_Grab.jpg 
Views:	107 
Size:	95.7 KB 
ID:	135843

    So I did some digging in the TriCaster, found what I believed to be the entire set of files for the Live Set in question, and Photoshopped this alternative (I did both left and right):

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Double Box Right.png 
Views:	97 
Size:	182.1 KB 
ID:	135842

    I got a bit worried when I imported it into Photoshop and it was only a standard-def size, but I figured maybe the TriCaster scales it nicely enough that it would still work in my video.

    Well, of course, when I backed up and replaced the original graphics with my own, only the thumbnail graphics were affected; I saw my Niles West Wolves version in V1's setup area, but the onscreen graphic remained the original one.

    So my question, after scouring the entire TriCaster for any high-resolution version of the original Space News Double Box graphics, remains: where do the full-res files go? Nothing in the LiveSet bin for that (or any other) set looks big enough to contain a hidden .png file that big. I've visited the other forums here, where people share their projects, and downloaded one that someone made for demonstrating iPad software. His LiveSet also had very small graphics files, yet I'm sure those were just thumbnails. I couldn't find the higher-resolution .PNGs anywhere, and the LiveSet files don't seem big enough to be hiding the full-res graphics within. Where the heck to they hide?

    Let me reiterate: I have no budget to buy LiveSet Editor, or any paid training or third-party/cutom sets. This was just an experiment, but it's one I think I can complete if I find the right graphic to alter.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Mike

    * (PS — when I have enough students working on a production like this, we do use a separate laptop running LiveText for onscreen scorekeeping; I had a really light crew this time out, so the simplest thing to do was this split-screen with a cam locked-down on the scoreboard.)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 3.30.32 PM.png 
Views:	101 
Size:	4.50 MB 
ID:	135844
    Last edited by michof; 01-31-2017 at 02:36 PM.

  2. #2
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,266
    All you did was change the icon image. LiveSets are compiled files that can't be edited. Only the VSE project file with VSE can edit it.
    That said, the two box you designed can be achieved in TriCaster without the use of VSE.
    You use your Virtual Input or M/E, depending on model TriCaster you have.
    Make your Photoshop box image in 1920X1080 and remove the B image layer and the people image layer. This would leave just the background and rounded borders but transparency (holes) for the boxes. Save as a normal PSD file.
    In TriCaster, import this PSD and use in as the V or M/E overlay layer. Then use a two layer or A over B LiveSet and for A chose the input and B chose the input and then scale and position them to fit behind the frame you want them in
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Skokie, IL
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by joseburgos View Post
    All you did was change the icon image.

    Yup — I was impressed that their icon was 640x480 even though it never gets viewed as larger than a thumbnail!

    Anyway, I did as you suggested and I love the result! Thanks so much for your help — it is greatly appreciated. My boss walked in as I was finishing it up and loved it!

    — Mike

  4. #4
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,266
    No problem

    Feel free to contact me for in-person or remote training for you, and/or your students, when your budget allows
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Skokie, IL
    Posts
    12
    Success! (For this sample, I didn't have any cameras hooked up so I used DDR and color bars to fill in the Alpha windows).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-17 Sports0002.jpg 
Views:	109 
Size:	746.6 KB 
ID:	135855

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •