Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Bullet tests - share your results

  1. #1
    Carbon fibre dongle® 50one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Glasgow Scotland
    Posts
    2,038

    Bullet tests - share your results

    Does anyone got some cool Bullet test and willing to share?
    I'll start - all settings default, any idea why so many cubes are getting throught the mesh? is it because it's one sided poly and gravity should be lowered?

    Why on earth the embedding videos doesn't work here?

    Last edited by 50one; 02-12-2013 at 09:17 AM.

  2. #2
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,574
    Quote Originally Posted by 50one View Post
    Does anyone got some cool Bullet test and willing to share?
    Here are some recent 11.5 Bullet tests I recorded:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCkuyIYHXuA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-kQRSsaCpg

    I've got a bunch of others. Will post them when I have time.

    Why on earth the embedding videos doesn't work here?
    You mean like this?



    When in Advanced Edit mode, just click the embed video button (filmstrip icon) and paste in the URL to your page (actual page URL, not the embed code.) I know this works with YouTube but I haven't tried it with Vimeo yet.

    G.

  3. #3
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,574
    Just tried the embed video button with a Vimeo page and it works fine too.

  4. #4
    Carbon fibre dongle® 50one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Glasgow Scotland
    Posts
    2,038
    Thanks, I missed it somehow. But it won't work on the mobile devices anyway for some reason( only youtube vids are visible)

    That carpet looks sexy BTW.
    Last edited by 50one; 02-12-2013 at 09:24 AM.

  5. #5
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,574
    I'm not 100% certain but I think there's a special format or option in the Vimeo controls for mobile devices like iPhone. I haven't used it but I thought I read about it. If not, never mind.

    G.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by 50one View Post
    That carpet looks sexy BTW.
    Doesn't it though? I just want to roll around naked in it.

    Um...maybe that was too much information.

  6. #6
    Why do the little cubes fall through the container? What if you subdiv the container several times?

  7. #7
    I recall reading in the manual that for best results the collision object should have some thickness/volume. That might be the problem here.

  8. #8
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,574
    Quote Originally Posted by art View Post
    I recall reading in the manual that for best results the collision object should have some thickness/volume. That might be the problem here.
    Yes, this is correct. In our current short film project, we have many hundreds of leaves blowing around and rolling across the the ground and we ran into this issue in early tests. Giving the ground object some volume beneath the surface solved this problem. Note: you only need to thicken 'flat' collision objects for the 'calc' scene. If you bake the results (which you should do anyway for network rendering,) you can bring the items into the 'final' scene that doesn't have all that extra 'thickening' geometry.

  9. #9
    Skyrim Master COBRASoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oudenburg, BEL
    Posts
    3,134

    Ball Machine 01

    I've made a simple anim with Bullet and the new Node Edges. Had quite some fun while doing so . LW 11.5 rocks!


  10. #10
    Carbon fibre dongle® 50one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Glasgow Scotland
    Posts
    2,038
    Nice test CobraSoft!

    BTW.

    Added volume to my static object and also tripled the whole scene just to be sure...and still most of the small cubes are getting through?
    All settings default - cubes are 10mm^3.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_000_001.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	94.3 KB 
ID:	111474
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_021_001.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	110.7 KB 
ID:	111475
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_036_001.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	110.6 KB 
ID:	111476
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_048_001.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	117.6 KB 
ID:	111477
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_069_001.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	229.2 KB 
ID:	111478
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image_108_001.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	194.1 KB 
ID:	111479

  11. #11
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    4,686
    What collision margin are you applying?

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 960 (358.91, 4GB and 1024 CUDA cores)
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (306.97 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  12. #12
    Carbon fibre dongle® 50one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Glasgow Scotland
    Posts
    2,038
    Quote Originally Posted by BeeVee View Post
    What collision margin are you applying?

    B
    5mm, but at the moment lowered it to 3mm for the cubes and doing the sim as we speak - 50% done.

    Edit:

    HAH, once I've increased the size [500%] the sim time is now around 1min - nice drop from 32 minutes...

    Anyway, done a couple of test with the bigger mesh, increased the margin collision[anything from 1 - 25mm], done tests with the use glue, breaking angle unchecked and the results are always the same, most of the cubes getting through domain after initial impact. experimented also with 'merge points' mass / density, 'parts' and convex pieces, nothing seems to help...

    OK, some more observations - increasing the cubes size to[as manual suggested >0.4 m object] 0.6m^3 seams to solve the issue with tunneling, once I'll get time to do a video, I'll post it here.

    Here's is the result for the cubes being 60mm^3 and collision margin set to 10mm on both domain and parts object.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bullet-fayul.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	146.2 KB 
ID:	111484


    Here's the tunneling test for the .6m size cubes:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bullet-better.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	112.0 KB 
ID:	111485

    Would be great to have the same performance level as in XSI Ice / Lagoa , will try to do more advanced tests since I've tested the settings now.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/g9ex24ujiz...blocks_rgb.flv
    Last edited by 50one; 02-13-2013 at 07:04 AM.

  13. #13
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,574
    Quote Originally Posted by COBRASoft View Post
    I've made a simple anim with Bullet and the new Node Edges.
    That is fun! Thanks for sharing.

    G.

  14. #14
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    6,574
    Quote Originally Posted by 50one View Post
    BTW.

    Added volume to my static object and also tripled the whole scene just to be sure...and still most of the small cubes are getting through?
    All settings default - cubes are 10mm^3.
    You might try subdividing the big box too. I think large polygonal surfaces may reduce precision--better to give Bullet smaller polys to work with.

    G.

  15. #15
    Carbon fibre dongle® 50one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Glasgow Scotland
    Posts
    2,038
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    You might try subdividing the big box too. I think large polygonal surfaces may reduce precision--better to give Bullet smaller polys to work with.

    G.

    Yeah, worth trying to subdivide the mesh instead of scaling up, gonna test it tommorow.
    Anyway, does anyone knows if the object mode is changed to parts" hpw the mass is calculated ? Total mass/ number of parts? I tried changing it to anything between 1 -10000 kg and it seems to have little effect.

    So far I'm really impressed with the calculation time! Around 1minute for 120 frames with those 10k cubes(.6m^3).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •