Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: instant teapot

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    4

    instant teapot

    Is there an instant teapot model. Can't find it in the create menu or add it from "edit menu" .
    Thanks

  2. #2
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    4,688
    It depends what version of LightWave you are using. The Utah teapot was a preset for a long time, but has been removed from Modeler since v9, I think.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 960 (358.91, 4GB and 1024 CUDA cores)
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (306.97 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    4
    Thanks, glad to know I hadn't imagined it.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Near Edinburgh
    Posts
    246

    Teapot files

    Hi, 32 and 64 bit versions of the Utah teapot. Works with 9.6, haven't tried with any other version.

    Regards

    Iain.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    4,688
    I can confirm it works in the very latest LightWave too.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 960 (358.91, 4GB and 1024 CUDA cores)
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (306.97 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Iain it's working

  7. #7
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,551
    Quote Originally Posted by iain_r View Post
    Hi, 32 and 64 bit versions of the Utah teapot. Works with 9.6, haven't tried with any other version.

    Regards

    Iain.
    Is there a version available for Mac (either as a .plugin, or .ls)??
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Near Edinburgh
    Posts
    246
    Hi, I can take the code that I used for the plugins and write an lscript file. I may have one on another machine already. I'll post the file when I get a chance. I don't have a Mac to make a compiled plugin.

    Regards

    Iain.

  9. #9
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    13,827
    Do these plugins just store the data? I mean, except for the exercise, it's just clipart.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  10. #10
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,551
    Quote Originally Posted by iain_r View Post
    Hi, I can take the code that I used for the plugins and write an lscript file. I may have one on another machine already. I'll post the file when I get a chance. I don't have a Mac to make a compiled plugin.

    Regards

    Iain.
    Cool! Thanks iain_r. An lscript would be great.
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Near Edinburgh
    Posts
    246

    Lscript teapot file

    Finally managed to get the lscript file created. Used the values from the SDK version that comes with 11. Should work on any version, obviously a lot slower than a compiled plugin while is does all the loops. Added a progress monitor.

    I checked this in 9.6 and 11.

    Regards

    Iain.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by iain_r; 08-11-2012 at 07:13 AM. Reason: Updated script file

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Near Edinburgh
    Posts
    246
    Jeric, what do you mean by "Do these plugins just store the data? I mean, except for the exercise, it's just clipart.". The plugins hold the point and polygon info, I don't know what clipart has to do with this.

    Regards
    Iain.

  13. #13
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    13,827
    Store the data, versus create the teapot procedurally.

    If the teapot were created procedurally it would be easy to, say, add more divisions. But if it's a straight collection of points that are joined together poly by poly, adding more divisions would be virtually impossible.

    Still worthwhile for the programming experience. A collection of points is really just a different storage media for clipart, since it can't be altered by the user. Loading the (clipart) object is tantamount to running the plugin, and vice versa.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  14. #14
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,551
    Quote Originally Posted by iain_r View Post
    Finally managed to get the lscript file created. Used the values from the SDK version that comes with 11. Should work on any version, obviously a lot slower than a compiled plugin while is does all the loops. Added a progress monitor.

    I checked this in 9.6 and 11.

    Regards

    Iain.
    Thanks iain_r, works here too.
    It is a little slow and I got a beachball as the progress bar finished, but it made the teapot.

    Thanks for doing this
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  15. #15
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    13,827

    Lightbulb One click solution for ANY mesh? Generalized 'primitives' generator

    I bet there's plenty of other objects that would be nice to have one-click solutions for. For instance, just now I made a circle, then realized I needed a 'gridded circle'. That's a handy mesh to have access to quickly, and more generally useful than a teapot, I reckon. (And offhand, simply making one manually seems a bit laborious, with a signficant # of points.

    If there were a methodology/script that you could submit a mesh to, and it would spit out a script or plugin that one could add to the menus, users could accumulate their favorite 'primitives'.

    Of course, procedurals would be 'better', BUT a lot of these objects just need to be scaled up/down for a wide range of uses.

    How were the teapot data points entered into the plugin?

    ++
    Plugins like this could also make certain workflow practices automatic: I often make a 'Perimeter' point set-- a plugin could include that action. Or the inverse, all points except the perimeter-- whatever works for you.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gridded circle.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	28.6 KB 
ID:	106263  
    Last edited by jeric_synergy; 08-15-2012 at 01:04 PM.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •