Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Flickr Watch us on YouTube
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1

    PS Move on Lightwave 11

    Hello guys,

    Anyone tried this already? connecting the PS Move to Lightwave Virtual Studio?

    I was looking at the configs, and it seems you have to connect your lightwave to your ps3 and then look for controlers.

    But I put the ip, enable the controlers, but it doesn't show any result.

    Any advice?

    Thanks!
    Felipe Mahalem
    -----------------------------------------
    http://www.felipemahalem.com

  2. #2
    So, apparently you have to buy a "game" on psn called Move.Me, that is an app that allows external connection to your ps move.

    I did a few tests here and it works great

    I'll post my results and findings here if anyone interested!

    Thanks!
    -----------------------------------------
    http://www.felipemahalem.com

  3. #3
    That would be fun to see! I got myself a psMove but got no PS3 (Bummer),
    i got the ps move in Usb to light on any color i want from LW usin H.I.D motion controler.
    Newtek did not mention the need for a PS3 wich they should have.
    Ill look into "Motion Joy" hack to run it without PS3 server.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2

    really?

    so you need a ps3 also?
    damn, i was so amazed by this feature.

  5. #5
    yeah, the PS3 act's like a server giving all the data to LW.
    But i'm Checking into "motion in joy " website on PC hack to
    Psmove .

    Anyone got results ??

  6. #6
    NewTek documentation wrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    909
    I'd be interested to know too. I'm certainly not going to give Sony €300 to buy a PS3 I don't want, but I'd part with €25 (plus the camera if necessary).

    B
    LightWiki
    --
    Machine spec: Phenom II x6 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 64-bit, NVidia Geforce 450 GTS 280.26

  7. #7
    Don't know if you guys might find this link usefull? http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/45610...ur-windows-pc/

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2
    i cant get it to work.
    there are also these projects:
    http://code.google.com/p/moveonpc/
    http://thp.io/2010/psmove/
    https://code.google.com/p/moveframework/

    can anyone from newtek suggest a solution? have they tried without a ps3 as a server?

  9. #9
    Registered User ivanze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    South America
    Posts
    577
    And it looks like you can use any USB gamepad like the xbox 360 gamepad to control virtual studio. One joystick to control rotation and the other one to control zoom and focus. And you can assign the buttons for other functions.
    Last edited by ivanze; 03-05-2012 at 01:22 PM.

  10. #10
    Thank you for the links! Trying to make my PS3 move work with LW camera.
    It's once again one of those exciting features that come barely documented and not targeted toward the one person studio / hobbyist end users. Too bad...

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    466
    Is there a way to connect Wiimotes to LW11?

    I know you can connect a Wiimote to a Linux system very easy and it works like a charm. No idea if that works on Windows though.

    On Ubuntu Linux all you need is Bluetooth (adapter if not built in) and simply run Sudo apt-get install wmgui && wminput.

    Then connect your Wiimote with wminput to your Computer and your good to go.

    Is something like that possible with LW11?

    Greetz
    Kevin "K-Dawg" Reeves

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    123
    You really need a PS3? Oh god that's ridiculous. I was really hoping to use the psmove in the future but at 300$, it's a lot less tempting.

  13. #13
    Speaking of ps move ... have you guys seen these ? Watch all 3 then the making of! Nice!

    http://www.greatfilmsfillrooms.com/en/video1.html
    Model: MacBook Pro 10.6.4 - 2.66 GHz - 4GB - NVD GF GT 330M
    Render: Win7 64 - Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz - 8GB

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by archijam View Post
    Speaking of ps move ... have you guys seen these ? Watch all 3 then the making of! Nice!

    http://www.greatfilmsfillrooms.com/en/video1.html
    right it's awesome.. but back to the point..

    can we get the move to work with the virtual studio...

  15. #15
    Super Member dwburman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    2,852
    Quote Originally Posted by AnomalyVFX View Post
    right it's awesome.. but back to the point..

    can we get the move to work with the virtual studio...
    Yes.

    You need the PS3 and the Move.Me software from Sony. The setup instructions are in the LightWave 11 Manual Addendum (lightwave3d_11_0_3_addendum-screen-7-28-2012.pdf) available on your account page at lightwave3d.com
    [mr] Dana W. Burman | http://dwburman.com
    Motion Graphics for sale at Pond5 Stock Footage & RevoStock
    Check out my tutorials at Liberty3d.com & my YouTube channel!

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2000-2012, NewTek
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com