Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Flickr Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 850cs

  1. #1
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    509

    850cs

    I have posted in the past about the 850CS early releases which had a design problem and required a jumper lead. Well I'm now going to be on my 4th shortly as the 3rd one I have is having a tendency to just freeze but if I pull out the usb and plug in, it works fine for about 30 seconds until I start pressing buttons. Just a warning - make sure you have a decent keyboard at your events - It might become your CS

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,737
    Odd to have continued problems. I don't think there have been huge numbers of failures. Do you have any unusual loading of USB devices? (I've run into systems before that started to be quirky with a surprisingly low number of input devices connected, and there's no doubt that the CS draws more than a little power.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    509
    Hi Steve

    The CS is the only thing we have connected to it - It will be reported tomorrow and I'm sure France will take a look and send it back to you if necessary. The guys at BVE said similar things so maybe I'm unlucky (and I am really looking after it in transmit I promise).

  4. #4
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,737
    Yes, I'm not criticizing - just that after four, one begins to wonder if there's something 'environmental' at play.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #5
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    509
    The first 2 were down to newtek early 850cs release with a dodgey connection between the boards (but that's all water under the bridge)... so this is really only my first actual "true" issue if you want to see it like that.

    Steve - I hope they are paying you more for working weekends.

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    14,737
    This is work?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Member Of Many Adventures ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,208
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    This is work?
    Good attitude Steve. Not so much like work when we love what we do.
    BTW, Im working today too.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Springfield MO
    Posts
    58
    Our 850 cs also had the same issues and sent it back to San Antonio and apparently our was one of the first batch to be delivered. I think being the first in line with anything to be manufactured there is always going to be some teething pains and issues, but Newtek has great turn around times on there repairs. Since then I have had no issues, I am waiting for Newtek to come out with a USB audio control surface..that would be slick

    Chris Lines
    Southwest Audio Visual
    Springfield MO 65802
    www.southwestav.com

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    22
    I think we are all waiting for the USB audio device - where do we sign up?


    Quote Originally Posted by rg7fan View Post
    Our 850 cs also had the same issues and sent it back to San Antonio and apparently our was one of the first batch to be delivered. I think being the first in line with anything to be manufactured there is always going to be some teething pains and issues, but Newtek has great turn around times on there repairs. Since then I have had no issues, I am waiting for Newtek to come out with a USB audio control surface..that would be slick

    Chris Lines
    Southwest Audio Visual
    Springfield MO 65802
    www.southwestav.com

  10. #10
    UK based Live Production
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    509
    Newtek Europe sent me the fix and instructions and we have fixed the CS - what is worrying is that this CS was sent to me only about 4-5 months ago.

    For a part that could seriously ruin a live event (and especially as the fix is a simple jumper lead sent in the post), I would have through that newtek cs (customer service now) would have had some way of communicating through the dealers to let everyone know about the issue and maybe sending out instructions of how to check if your CS is ok or not.

    I'm concerned in future that if something is bought (for example I'm buying a 450extreme+CS right now) then do I need to worry that the 450 CS will have the same problem.

    Sorry to have a little moan but I have to make this point and hopefully someone in CS at Newtek will take this into consideration in the future.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LPGC, Spain
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by mtasker View Post
    I think we are all waiting for the USB audio device - where do we sign up?
    Wait no more!

    It's here

    http://tcxd.unmardedatos.com

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    644
    YES.

    Do presets fade?
    E. Lee Dickinson | Partner
    Advanced Visual Production | sound.lighting.video.design
    www.avprva.com

    Tricaster Pro, TXD300, TXD850
    Panasonic HVX170, sdi over coax

  13. #13
    We have similar issues with our CS. It failed multiple times last weekend in the middle of the event, but so did our TW, so I think it might be TC related.

    I did the jumper self fix (prior to issues). Ours was one of the first CS off the line too.

    TC 460 8000 / ATEM 4K 1 M/E
    Elemental Live / Teradek Cube 155 / Wirecast 5.01
    Panasonic AW-HE120 / Sony EX3 and NX5 / GoPro
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/digitalbuilt

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LPGC, Spain
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee-AVP View Post
    YES.

    Do presets fade?
    Not yet. There will be an upgrade to enable fading and and mic trimming..

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Springfield MO
    Posts
    58
    I am getting this app.

    Chris Lines
    Southwest Audio Visual
    www.southwestav.com

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2000-2012, NewTek
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com