LWPy - An Intro to Python for Lightwave

Very cool. I'm not a programmer, so it's pretty foreign to me, but I think this is a very good idea.

BTW -- I realize it's early in LW 11's life and it's integration with python, but why haven't we seen some cool python scripts hitting the public yet? Is it difficult to take scripts that were created for other programs (Maya, Blender, etc.) and convert them for use with LW? Forgive my ignorance.

Very cool. I'm not a programmer, so it's pretty foreign to me, but I think this is a very good idea.

BTW -- I realize it's early in LW 11's life and it's integration with python, but why haven't we seen some cool python scripts hitting the public yet? Is it difficult to take scripts that were created for other programs (Maya, Blender, etc.) and convert them for use with LW? Forgive my ignorance.

Hey thanks! Actually, I'm not a programmer either (yet).

There is functionality from the host applications that wouldn't carry over even if you did sucessfully convert the program from say Maya to Lightwave. I would say the main reason there hasn't been a lot of Python activity is we're still learning it. There are some folks here like Celshader who are well-versed in Python, but writing a plug-in that gets called within Lightwave is very different. It's like writing a C plug-in that doesn't get compiled.

Actually, Jen Hachigan (spelling?) has put a few threads up posting scripts for functions she has found useful.

I think the situation is perhaps a bit of a cycle that needs to be broken. Most people in the LW community don't know Python. This makes it hard for them to get excited about it. Without excitement not many people are motivated to learn python (but rather stick to LScript)

It will take time and more people to learn Python and grow the userbase, and threads like this (and Jen's) will help.

I'd like to say that these are essential viewing for beginners - they really helped me start.

Thanks, that's good to know.