Call for an architectural vizualization tutorial in LW 2018

medzo

Hi

I am an arch viz artist and I have purchased new LW2018. Although I am sure this new render engine is a big step forward I do have to admit that I am struggling with it, especially with noise. I am aware there are LW docs available (and specifically a 'noise removal workflow' section), still render times are much longer than in previous versions of Lightwave.

I know this community is very helpful, but it would really help me (and others) to watch a video tutorial explaining how to prepare an architectural visualization indoors and outdoors focusing mostly on scene preparation, balancing samples, vegetation gotcha's, speed up solutions,...

...or maybe my 8 cores are ancient technology and I just need a more powerful computer :)

With best regards
Matej

-while you learning LW 2018 .. if you have a decent Nvidia (780 gtx for example) you may try also octane too...

Hi tyrot

I did test octane, it is great and easy to learn, but I would have to buy (as I have gathered information, but I could be wrong) at least 3 more graphic cards, cooling system... and there isn't a simple way to render on render farms (due to some licensing or something like that). And besides, haven't we all waited for the new Lightwave ;)

Matej

...but seriously, is an 8 core machine a thing of a past for doing fully 3d arch environments with LW new render engine? I am inclining to the idea that it is. What are your thoughts?

Matej

medzo,

my way of doing things -set all samples to 1, turn all materials to principal, turn off all glossy reflections.

turn off adaptive aa. add in your backdrop image. add in environment light or use gi. start with interpolated, set settings low.

setup scene, gradually increase samples on lights to get decent result, starting with env light if present.