Adding forward movement to walk cycle

pandorian

I'm a Layout newbie, so please bear with me. I've created a sort of walk cycle which has my biped figure walking in place without moving any amount of distance. I'm having a difficult time trying to figure out how to edit this cycle so I can MOVE my figure a certain distance for each reframe without it interpolating while I'm doing so. In other words, after I created the walk cycle (which walks in place without traveling any distance) I wanted to show him using this walk cycle to actually move a particular distance on each keyframe. However every time I try to set up the distance movement in each keyframe, it automatically starts to interpolate movement. I know I'm missing something, I just can't seem to figure it out.

One method is to use Null references for feet,
keyframing the skeleton root, hip or something in Z+ position (or Z-?)
for each frame, without interpolation.

At first frame, position the first Null to the foot not moving,
for each next frame move the root to keep this foot matching the Null,
until the foot leave the ground and the other foot become static,
use a second Null as reference for this second foot and continue keyframing
the root to keep the second foot matching the second Null,
go to the end of this cycle, set the root Z+ position to "Offset repeat".

Denis.

Maybe I'm not explaining myself properly, what I'm trying to convey is that I loaded a figure into Lightwave Layout, converted skelegons to bones, applied IK booster to the figure so I can manipulate the posing of the character, created nulls for each foot.