View Full Version : Lightwave home page down
Nicolas Jordan
11-18-2008, 07:29 PM
If you visit the Lightwave home page http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/ right now it just says this "Hi ADMiN ^_^". Looks like it may have gotten messed with. May have gotten hacked.
Oliver
11-18-2008, 07:35 PM
Probably the same guys who did this: www.newtek.com ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrjwaqZfjIY
The NewTek front page seems legit, however the LightWave page DOES NOT.
This is clearly someone trying to mess with NewTek now, the hacked forums and now this. Maybe a peeved user / ex-employee / LW competition?
Either way, it is no longer funny and I would LOVE to know who is doing this.
It is clearly a LightWave thing as no other part of NewTek.com has been touched, _just_ the LightWave page.
Oliver
11-18-2008, 08:07 PM
True... I just assumed that since both pages got updated it could also have been an server error. But that would have been reported differently - surely not with an "Hi Admin"...
I've made Jay aware of it.
MooseDog
11-18-2008, 08:21 PM
uh-oh. root access is not a good thing!
as to what the page looks like, i'll take your word for it. i'm not going to click over to there, as it seems like a tailor-made situation for malware delivery.
Hopper
11-18-2008, 08:23 PM
It works now.
Nicolas Jordan
11-18-2008, 09:43 PM
Yep, looks like it's up now. Maybe it was an easy fix or they had a backup server or something.
zapper1998
11-18-2008, 09:56 PM
the Aliens have arrived ....
vBulletin® v3.8.2, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.