PDA

View Full Version : Clone from frames

Qslugs
02-18-2003, 10:32 PM
I am just getting into Aura and am wondering if Aura can do this. I want to clone from several frames ahead or several frames behind. Is this possible?? In Commotion, I believe there was a tool called supercloner in which you would chose how many frames ahead or behind you would be cloning from. I realize you can do something like this with the reveal mode, offsetting a copy of the layer you wish to clone from on the reveal sourcing layer. I would think that that would eat up too much ram with large clips. Anyway, so can this be done, and if not I would like to request it.

SBowie
02-19-2003, 12:40 PM
I'm not quite clear on your request. Are you referring to using pantograph painting from one frame into a neighbouring one, or simply copying image data from a frame or frame selection into neighbouring frames (or layers)? Or something else altogether?

Qslugs
02-19-2003, 01:16 PM
I guess what I am refering to is selcting how many frames back you want to soruce you pantograph from. So then you could say that you want to source from 3 frames ahead or 3 frames behind. This kind of thing is useful for retouching moving footage using a similarly blured source. Here's what the commotion quickstart pdf has to say (I found this useful in commotion):

Cloning and SuperCloning
Commotion offers two types of cloning. One type is similar to other paint
programs where you specify an area to copy from and clone to another region
of the frame. The other is called SuperClone.

A standard clone can be accomplished by choosing the rubber stamp tool and
holding down the Option key while you click on the location to clone from.
(Windows: use the Alt key.)
SuperClone can not only copy from that same frame but can copy from other clips or
other frames of the same clip. Double-click on the SuperClone button to bring up the
SuperClone window.